The Rebel Princess

The Rebel Princess

by Judith Koll Healey
4.3 6

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.49
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Rebel Princess by Judith Koll Healey

“A seamless blend of history and fiction, and a gripping read.”
Minneapolis Star Tribune

 

The Rebel Princess—the breathtaking sequel to Judith Koll Healey’s critically acclaimed historical novel The Canterbury Papers—returns the reader to Medieval France as it continues the story of an exceptional heroine, Princess Alais. Blending fascinating fact with dazzling invention, Healey’s The Rebel Princess is an impeccably researched, gorgeously detailed tale of love, intrigue, and adventure, brimming with surprises and spine-tingling suspense—an ideal read for lovers of Philippa Gregory’s The Other Boleyn Girl and Labyrinth by Kate Mosse.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061891632
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/30/2009
Series: Alais Capet , #2
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 947,293
File size: 639 KB

About the Author

Judith Koll Healey indulges her hobby, medieval history, when she is not working as a consultant to family foundation boards in solving planning and dynamics problems. She lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Rebel Princess 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
The_Reading_Reviewer More than 1 year ago
Princesse Ala?s, sister to the King of France, Philippe was living in dangerous times at the turn of the 12th century. There were religious confrontations with Rome coming, strife with rulers in the south of France and spies abound trying to make their own agenda factual. But being a princess in this place and time meant you were rarely seen and never heard, however Ala?s was extraordinary in that her brother sought her council on matters of state and she always stood out in the crowd ready to voice her opinion and to add to all this she was blessed or cursed with a "second sight" that gave her visions and dreams that foretold both the present and future. She let no one intimidate her but did respect her brother and lived secretly with her gift revealing what she saw only to her brother and Templar Grand Master William of Cean, the man she dearly loved. But Ala?s also kept a very deep, dark secret and one that would drive her to take risks and allow any manner of danger to be set upon her. William would also carry this secret as well and made her not reveal of it regardless of how she felt. These two were the closest lovers possible but were kept apart for too many years as William carried out the Pope's agenda. Ala?s knew why she must not tell her secret but even the warmth of William's love was going to keep her telling much longer. When a horrid event changes everything for the Kingdom Ala?s moves to not only reveal this secret but to free the one person she must tell it to before it is too late. She may be a princess of the house of Capet and the daughter of the Kings of France but, she was at the core a woman who knew when her time had come to be counted and fight for what is right regardless of what may happen to you. This book is about so much more than one princess living in a time of turmoil - this book is about the spirit of a woman who fights for what is right alongside royalty and commoners. Most important of all it is about a mother who will do anything to protect the child she loves so much. There is history, strife and religious conflict but at the core there is the relationship between a man and a woman who know that time and circumstance may separate them but nothing in the end can destroy their love. Mary Gramlich is The Reading Reviewer located at www.marygramlich.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mamasaun More than 1 year ago
I had to read the first book in this series for a history class. I didn't think I'd like it but I was pleasantly surprised! Healey takes real historical characters and takes them on a wild fictional ride. It is smart, funny, and fast-paced. Definitely worth the read even if you aren't a history buff.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is about a strong women whose passion and love for her child was captured beautifully by the author. It is a beautiful and exciting love story. I recommend first reading Canterbury Papers.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In October 1207, Princess Alais, sister to King Phillipe of France, waits for the return of her lover, English leader of the Knights Templar William of Caen to complete his mission safely. She impatiently hopes one day they will openly display their love and she can tell his ward Francis that she is his mother and English King Henry I is his sire. Before she can do that first he must leave the order.----------- William and Francis come to see Alais and her brother to consult with the king re the Cathars breakaway region in the south centered in Toulouse. Phillip rejects the pope's envoys plea to mount a counter offensive; this angers Armand Amary, a church VIP who wants all the Cathars executed as heretics. When Francis is kidnapped, Alais heads to Toulouse risking her life searching for her offspring while William goes on a Pope Innocent III directed mission.------------- Fans of Sharon Kay Penman and Rebecca Gellis will love this fantastique medieval historical fiction novel with a romantic subplot that enhances the prime court-papal intrigue story line. Readers learn about the Catharism movement focusing on the principles of a Good God and an evil adversary; their tenet of no priests or buildings ultimately led to the Albigensian Crusade. Although Alais does nothing wrong on her quest to save her son, the sequel to THE CANTERBURY PAPERS remains overall an insightful thirteenth century thriller.--------- Harriet Klausner