Records of Convocation XVI: Ireland, 1101-1690

Records of Convocation XVI: Ireland, 1101-1690

by Gerald Bray (Editor)


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Records of Convocation XVI: Ireland, 1101-1690 by Gerald Bray

The convocation records of the Churches of England and Ireland are the principal source of our information about the administration of those churches from middle ages until modern times. They contain the minutes of clergy synods, the legislation passed by them, tax assessments imposed by the king on the clergy, and accounts of the great debates about religious reformation; they also include records of heresy trials in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, many of them connected with the spread of Lollardy. However, they have never before been edited or published in full, and their publication as a complete set of documents provides a valuable resource for scholarship.
This volume contains the texts of and evidence for all the Irish reforming synods from the twelfth century onwards, collated with parliamentary legislation from the same period. The peculiar nature of the Irish convocation as it developed from the time of Edward I onwards is charted in detail, and supplemented by what is known of contemporary provincial and diocesan synods. Much previously unpublished material, taken from the Armagh registers, from the surviving acts of the seventeenth century convocations and from a number of other scattered sources, is also made available.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781843832324
Publisher: Boydell & Brewer, Limited
Publication date: 05/18/2006
Series: Records of Convocation Series , #16
Pages: 644
Product dimensions: 6.25(w) x 9.25(h) x 2.00(d)

About the Author

The Reverend Dr Gerald Bray (PhD, Paris-Sorbonne) was the Professor of Anglican Studies at Beeson Divinity School and is now a research professor there. He is also Director of Research at the Latimer Trust. Among his other work he is the editor of Documents of the English Reformation (James Clarke & Co, 1994, second edition 2004).

Table of Contents


Early Irish reforming synods

Henry II (1154-89)

Richard I (1189-99)

John (1199-1216)

Henry III (1216-1272)

Edward I (1272-1307)

Edward II (1307-27)

Edward III (1327-77)

Richard II (1377-99)

Henry IV (1399-1413)

Henry V (1413-22)

Henry VI (1422-61)

Edward IV (1461-83)

Richard III (1483-5)

Henry VII (1485-1509)

Henry VIII (1509-47)

Edward VI (1547-53)

Mary I (1553-58)

Elizabeth I (1558-1603)

James I (1603-25)

Charles I (1625-49)

Charles II (1649/60-85)

James II (1685-90)



Index of sources

Index of references

Index of names and places

Index of subjects

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews