Refining Felicity

Refining Felicity

by M. C. Beaton

NOOK BookDigital Original (eBook - Digital Original)

$9.49 $9.99 Save 5% Current price is $9.49, Original price is $9.99. You Save 5%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


In this Regency romance series opener by the bestselling author of the Agatha Raisin mysteries, two chaperones must tame a boisterous young lady.

Although they still dream of getting married one day, elderly and impoverished sisters Amy and Effie Tribble must face the reality that they need money. Their plan: to market their skills as professional chaperones. With an advertisement in the newspaper offering to refine “a wild, unruly, or undisciplined daughter,” they hope for the best.

Enter high-spirited Lady Felicity Vane. Her father wanted a boy, and her manners show it. She rides her horse through the rose garden and is happier hunting animals than husbands. It will certainly take a miracle to reform Felicity into marriage material, but in the hands of the Tribble sisters, anything is possible…


The Misses Tribble, Amy and Effie, spinster sisters of a certain age, have lived for years on expectations of a great inheritance. When this fails to materialize, they are truly destitute. Desperate, they advertise that they will refine wild and unruly daughters, present them, and see them safely wed. The School for Manners six book series follows these two stalwart spinsters as they undertake enterprises of matchmaking and navigate the troublesome machinations of the London marriage mart.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780795315107
Publisher: RosettaBooks
Publication date: 01/15/2014
Series: The School for Manners Series , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 193
Sales rank: 457,852
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

M. C. Beaton is the pen name of bestselling novelist Marion Chesney. She is a prolific writer of historical romances and small village mysteries. Born in Scotland, the author began her writing career as a fiction buyer for a Glasgow bookstore and has worked as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor. The author has written under various names, most notably as M. C. Beaton for her Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series. She also has written under the names Sarah Chester, Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Marion Gibbons, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward. The author lived in the United States, but now splits her time between the Cotswolds, England and Paris, France.

Customer Reviews