Relic (The Books of Eva I)

Relic (The Books of Eva I)

Hardcover

$11.76 $17.99 Save 35% Current price is $11.76, Original price is $17.99. You Save 35%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Relic 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Justpeachy1 More than 1 year ago
Dystopian fiction meets high fantasy in Heather Terrell's first book in The Books of Eva series, Relic. Fans of The Hunger Games, Game of Thrones and The Inconvenient Truth will all find something to entertain and to make them think in this novel. In a post-apocalyptic  icy world a young girl must test her survival skills and her beliefs about her society. This is a coming of age story that begs the question, is the history we have been taught real or is it colored by time and what the government wants us to believe? This is a powerful young adult novel that will have readers thinking beyond the box and outside the boundaries of what they already know. A great read! When most readers look at a book from the dystopian genre there are several things usually present. Most dystopian literature is post-apocalyptic, as is this one. But most dystopian works feature a lot of violence and killing. Relic is different in the fact that there is basically no violence at all. The competitors in the testing are not competing to survive at the cost of the other Gallants. They are competing to see who can bring back the most influential relic, a piece of history frozen in time. I liked the fact that Terrell didn't need all the violence to make this story interesting. She kept the readers focus by attention to detail and great storytelling. This is basically a quest novel. Eva's brother Eamon has met an early death as he trained for the testing. A maiden has not tested in over 150 years but Eva wants to honor the memory of her brother. She is underestimated by her family and her community but she has more heart than they believe she ever could. She faces the Arctic tundra and braves more than just the elements to bring back a Relic that may change the course of history for her people. Eva is a wonderful character. Resourceful and full of surprises. She challenges what she knows to be true at every turn and defies the odds against her. Terrell does a masterful job of giving readers a protagonist that is worthy of the title. I liked the fact that Relic differs from other books in the genre in the fact that instead of being a highly evolved society, Aerie has basically went back in time instead of forward. When the Healing (flood brought on by the misuse of the Earth) cleansed the world, everything changed. But what Eva and the rest of her community have come to believe, may not be what really happened. I loved that digging up the artifacts allowed everyone to learn more about the Earth's culture before the Healing and what caused the destruction. I liked the idea behind the Lex and how those rules were set down. I also enjoyed the fact that Eva's discovery challenges the status quo and what everyone believes to be true. Beyond being a great heroine based adventure story, Relic has a message. Perhaps sometimes we need people who think a little differently in our world. Being unique and different gives you a different perspective on the world at large. Don't always take what someone tells you as gospel. Search, investigate, think! I think this is a great start to a great series for teens and adults. I think Terrell does a great job of drawing the reader in and making them think. In short, I want my kids to read this book. I want them to explore their own ideas and broaden their horizons. This is the kind of novel that does that. Well done!
Heather_Anne11 More than 1 year ago
RELIC is compared to Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games. While I have read Game of Thrones, I could definitely see how it is compared to The Hunger Games. The days of technology, also known as the PreHealing times, as long gone and the reader is transported to a world where the chief Archon rules for 10 years and then a Testing is held to select the next. While reading, you will come across a different vocabulary, but not one that is difficult to follow. It is during a time where women are Maidens and not expected to compete, but after Eva’s twin brother dies before the next Testing, Eva has a reason to enter and compete in his place. She prepares just like the others, granted not with the same amount of time, but being the only female to compete in the Testing for the first time in years, she proves herself to be strong and just as capable of overcoming the grueling Testing. RELIC combines elements of survival with that of a dystopian. It’s an interesting read that keeps you engrossed in the story every step of the way. As the story goes on, Eva begins to realize that the world in which she lives may not be all she thought it to be. Eve is a heroine to admire. She demonstrates strength, courage, and determination throughout the book. And of course, there is a love triangle between Eva, Jasper, and Lukas, but it doesn’t take over the story and could almost be described as a side story. I like that it doesn’t take away from the action and adventure that the Testing contains. As the first book in The Books of Eva series, RELIC sets up an interesting story and one that I am curious to read more about. It takes place in the frozen and dangerous Arctic, which is an entirely new setting for me as a reader. I am looking forward to continuing this series and finding out answers to some very important questions. You’ll have to read to find out what I mean… ;)   4.5 out of 5 stars! 
Sailon More than 1 year ago
Relic is a dysptopian story based on a post polar ice cap melt down turning the world into a second ice age. The story is about the people that survived this disaster and the society that they built. There is the people of the Aerie called the founders, these are people that escaped to this colony created for just such a disaster and there is the Inuit people, who serve as servants to the Founders but live outside their carefully planned city. Over time the religious beliefs have been warped by power and corruption and this story is about a young girl Eva's slow discovery into truth. The Testing is a ritual where the Founders send their children out into the arctic conditions, dog sleds and all, to uncover proof (relics) to show the evil lives of the pre-healed world. (Founders consider the flooding was the way the “gods” healed the world). Top prize is something apple. Eva seemed somewhat naïve in some respects but then progressive in others. I did have a little trouble validating her ability to survive with only a few months of training when her brother and the other contestants spent their entire lives preparing for the Testing. The premise is strong and the concept of apple being a “god” was completely original. Heather Terrell descriptive writing creates a clear image of a mid-evil yet futuristic world. Definitely written with more books in mind, Relic provides indepth insight into a new world and an interesting new series to follow. I received this ARC of Relic in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication October 29, 2013. Written by: Heather Terrell Series: Books of Eva Sequence in Series: 1 Hardcover: 288 pages Publisher: Soho Teen  Publication Date: October 29, 2013 ISBN-10: 1616951966 ISBN-13: 978-1616951962 Rating: 3.5 Stars Genre: Dystopia Age Recommendation: Teen +
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just read Relic (finished it a few minutes ago, actually) and was stunned, yet amazed at the end. Eva goes through so much in such a short time. It's hard to understand Relic at first, as it's written to fit that time, but you begin to understand it after a few chapters. I thought the symbolism of Apple was kind of funny. The fact that they thought people worshipped Apple was just hysterical. <br> Overall, this was just an awesome story. I seriously hope there's going to be a sequel. Three cheers for Heather Terrell!
Happy-Reader0 More than 1 year ago
Excellent new fiction for young teens (or precocious tweens).  Very compelling, adventurous fantasy. Great girl-lead!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes I know that but they keep reincarnating and regenerating. They have to form agn and regain power. The light flash sent him to Tartarus to regenerate in a bubble like Hyperion in the House of Hades.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Can't wait for the sequel, Boundary.
GreatBooks1WowEC More than 1 year ago
Great dystopia for tweens! If your child read The Giver, or the Divergent series, this could be a great follow-up. It's a haunting tale of a girl in a bleak world, trying to unravel the history of her people, and trying to figure out who killer her brother. Good romance, but mostly adventure.