Remember Me

Remember Me

by Penelope Wilcock


$12.13 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.13, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Last in the series, Remember Me focuses on the character of William de Bulmer and traces the possibility of what it means to get things wrong and begin again. Part of The Hawk and the Dove series.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781433526633
Publisher: Crossway Books
Publication date: 07/06/2012
Series: The Hawk and the Dove Series
Pages: 217
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Pen Wilcock is the author of The Hawk and the Dove series and many other books such as In Celebration of Simplicity and 100 Stand-Alone Bible Studies. She has many years of experience as a Methodist minister and has worked as a hospice and school chaplain. She has five adult daughters and lives in Hastings, East Sussex. She writes a successful blog: Kindred of the Quiet Way.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

“If Penelope’s goal was to bring the hope that only Jesus can offer, please know she has been successful. She has this way of being able to authentically portray the human heart and all of its struggles that leaves one full of hope and love. That is not easily done—thank you. Excellent book. I loved it.”
Mary Gliserman, Dean of Faculty, Vice-Principal, and teacher, The Daniel Academy associated with the International House of Prayer, Kansas City

“Penelope Wilcock has penned a wonderful medieval series. In Remember Me, the final volume, she explores the struggle of a monk who has chosen his vocation wrongly to face the implications of his choice. The flavor of medieval and monastic life in Wilcock’s work is to savor anew with each volume.”
Mel Starr, author, The Unquiet Bones, A Corpse at St. Andrew’s Chapel, and A Trail of Ink

“Magically beautiful, tender, and exquisitely drawn; full of teaching on love and forgiveness and almost every page brought a smile to my lips. I have fallen in love with all the books and I think Father William’s journey, interlaced with Abbott John’s is something of the best I have read.”
Sue Ridley, Sussex, United Kingdom

“These books are not only ‘a good read,’ but also touch on the deeper truths that profit us for eternity.”
Benedictine Abbess, Kent, United Kingdom

“We devoured the books, passing them on from one to another, identifying with the characters, appropriating their idiosyncrasies and easily recognizing parallel situations in community life. Congratulations to Penelope for so faithfully describing the phenomenon called monastic life—and for grabbing the heart of it with its daily struggles and surprises, its hopes and fears, its strengths and weaknesses—a microcosm of the human experience.”
Sister Ann, Prioress, Thicket Priory Carmelite Monastery, Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Remember Me 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
arlenadean More than 1 year ago
Review: "Remember Me" by Penelope Wilcock was her sixth book in The Hawk and Dove series and was a christian fiction. This novel was of the life of William de Bulmer who was a monk of the St. Alcuin...has fallen in love with the Abbot John's sister Madeleine ...oops...then he meets Madeleine next door neighbor Mother Ellen Cottingham..who comes to love him as a son..and ask him to become her confessor...and now he has accidentally lost all of the Abby's money"... what would happen for this monk next...could he be truly forgiven? Now, this is where I say you must pick up this excellent read.."Remember Me" to find out just what is going on. The historical details that this author displays was simply a masterful job in describing the struggles that these monks had trying to live a godly life. We really get a look through this Medieval storyline of that shows this monks true life struggles with despair dealing with love and walking a narrow path serving God. The main character...Father William was solid wonderful person...very real..along with John(Abbot), Father Peregrine, Father Oswald, Madeleine, Mother Ellen Cottingham, Brother Michael, Brother Robert, Brother Thomas, Brother Fleix, Brother Chad, Brother Ambrose,Brother Richard, Brother Bernard, Brother Giles, Brother Martin, Brother Benedict, Brother Paulinus, Brother James, Brother Peter, Brother Michael, Brother Walafrid, Brother Stephen, Father Domonic, Brother Conradus, Brother Cormac, Father Theodore, Thomas Haydon and I am sure I have left someone out.. but if you pick up "Remember Me" you can see who that was. "Remember Me" was a wonderful read for me and I truly enjoyed each and every page. I would definietly recommend this excellent novel and it is worth reading.
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
Penelope Wilcox is the author of Remember Me, the sixth book in The Hawk and Dove series where the reader is immersed into the life of William de Bulmer, a monk of the St. Alcuin who falls in love with Abbot John's sister Madeline and we open the book to find him finally confessing his love and true feelings for her. In this part of the series, we get a more in-depth look at what the life of a monk is like through the eyes of William and it's not always an easy one but this shows his true life struggles with despair, pride and humility pertaining to his feelings towards not only Madeline, but also toward the church and his devotion to serving God. William also has to come to terms with the loss of the abbey's money that he finds himself solely responsible. How does one deal with these feelings when he is supposed to be walking a narrow path serving God? Is he truly cut out for the life of a monk after all, or will he simply choose to deal with the consequences of his actions and leave his faith entirely for love? I would recommend picking up the first book in this series dealing with William de Bulmer to see why the character is at the place he is when this novel opens. I think it would provide a more solid foundation of the storyline and character development than to simply pick this one up and try to follow along through the tidbits you glean as you read through the book. The first book, The Hardest Thing To Do is followed by The Hour Before the Dawn and these book have been previously well received through other reviews. I received this book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and seeing the storyline develop for the character of William, I am hoping to go back and begin this series from the first book to get a better idea of where this novel falls into place. As a stand alone, I rate this one a 3 out of 5 stars but hope to increase this after reading the entire series.