Remember The Moon: A Novel

Remember The Moon: A Novel

by Abigail Carter

Paperback

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 29

Overview

"Watching myself die, I felt no pain, no emotion, no fear."

So begins this remarkable novel by Abigail Carter, whose critically acclaimed The Alchemy of Loss: A Young Widow's Transformation was called "Eloquent and honest" by the Toronto Globe and Mail. Fans of The Lovely Bones and The Alchemist will appreciate Remember The Moon as a beautifully written, inspiring story of everlasting love that reaches far beyond the grave.

Clinging to life from the edge of a cliff, Jay, a beleaguered software company executive sees the possibility of rescue in the eyes of the firefighter dangling nearby, but the car lurches and Jay plunges toward his watery grave. He floats above his lifeless body and hears a familiar voice. "Welcome home J.J."

Reunited briefly with his father, who died when Jay, a hapless 14-year-old was unable to save him after a canoe accident, Jay is introduced to his afterlife therapist Alice, who will help ease him into a life of being dead. Death isn't all it's cracked up to be.

Jay visits his grieving wife Maya and watches helplessly as his seven-year-old son Calder seems bent on joining his dad through reckless skateboarding accidents. Jay longs to ease their pain and tell them how much he loves them.

When Maya hires Liz, a psychic, Jay's excited to finally give his wife his message of love. Instead, he learns her terrible secret and in anger and jealousy, leads her toward an ill-fated romance with a narcissistic, sexually deviant player she believes is "heaven sent" from Jay himself.

Maya's grief becomes more complicated in the aftermath of another loss, and Calder's alarming behavior prompts Jay to find a way to set them both free or risk the well-being of them all. Confronted with the decision to either follow his mortal instincts or help his wife find new love, Jay must learn to transcend everything he ever was.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780991105014
Publisher: Abigail Carter
Publication date: 06/30/2014
Pages: 292
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.66(d)

About the Author

Abigail Carter was an expat Canadian living in New Jersey with her husband and two children, when her husband died in the attack on the twin towers on 9/11. Following the catastrophe, Abby moved to Seattle with her children and began writing to try to come to terms with what had happened to her family. That act opened another world to her and she wrote The Alchemy of Loss: A Young Widow’s Transformation in 2008. Her latest novel, Remember the Moon continues the exploration of loss and grief and delves into questions about life after death.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Remember the Moon: A Novel 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best to access this book via another source. Seems like an interesting read but not readable on Nook. (First sentence of paragraphs are cut off and that's all there is; other paragraphs are intact.) Don't waste your money.
Marichus-Real More than 1 year ago
A gifted copy was given in exchange for an honest review. A beautiful story about death and after death from the point of view of the person who departs and the people who are left behind and at the same time from an adult and a child point of view. You can see how the three main characters in the story, Jay, Maya and Calder, struggle with their grief in different ways. The story is totally believable. You can feel pain, sadness, fear, grief, love and desperation along with the characters. Don’t forget to have some tissues at hand, you are going to need them. A very well written book and without any doubt a must read.