Requiem for a Phantom God

Requiem for a Phantom God

by Stifyn Emrys
4.5 2

Paperback

$12.99
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, September 22 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Overview

Requiem for a Phantom God by Stifyn Emrys

The debate between the theist and the atheist dates back millennia. Yet the crucial question involves not the existence of deity, but what kind of deity might exist. Can we eliminate certain options and leave ourselves free to explore others? In "Requiem for a Phantom God," author Stifyn Emrys argues that we can.

Any consideration of the divine should rule out what C.S. Lewis termed "nonsense." Self-contradictory portraits of God are not only meaningless, but they have the potential to do great harm - and they have over the course of human history.

"Requiem for a Phantom God" serves as an epitaph for just such a god of nonsense. It identifies the core philosophical problem: the desire of humanity to believe in an all-powerful deity who is at, at the same time, entirely "good." This desire, however, is destined to remain unfulfilled, because these two concepts simply cannot be reconciled. Once humanity realizes this, we can choose the kind of god we wish to believe in: immanent or transcendent ... if, indeed, we wish to put our faith in a god at all.

"Requiem" discusses the abuses and pitfalls of faith, and whether it is possible to speak of a faith that is not blind. It addresses modern and historical examples of religious abuse and suggests they tell us about the doctrines that support them.

Written in the tradition of Christopher Hitchens, "Requiem for a Phantom God" is in the second publication this year from writer, educator and philosopher Stifyn Emrys. His previous book, "The Gospel of the Phoenix: Another Revelation of Jesus," is also available.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780615681900
Publisher: The Provocation Press
Publication date: 08/07/2012
Pages: 196
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.45(d)

About the Author

Stifyn Emrys is a veteran journalist and educator who has written on subjects as diverse as history, religion, politics and language. He has served as an editor for fiction and non-fiction projects, and his first book, "The Gospel of the Phoenix," was published in the summer of 2012. The present work was published shortly thereafter.

The author has lectured occasionally on the pagan origins of Christianity and continues to research the development of religious traditions. He has worked as an editor, columnist, educator and reporter. He lives in California with his beautiful and talented wife, reclusive stepson, one rather vocal yet personable cat and one hyperactive, somewhat neurotic dog.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Requiem for a Phantom God 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Requiem for a Phantom God by Stifyn Emrys managed to keep what could be a tedious subject Very interesting. I would recommend this book to my friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great read for anyone who is "challenged" by montheism!