Rescuing Crockett

Rescuing Crockett

by David Z. Pyke
Rescuing Crockett

Rescuing Crockett

by David Z. Pyke

eBook

$4.99 

Available on Compatible NOOK devices, the free NOOK App and in My Digital Library.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details

Overview

"Presented with artful plausibility.... A thrilling historical drama, as engrossing as it is edifying." —Kirkus Reviews

What if Davy Crockett survived the Alamo?

Texas, 1838. Silas Grant prepares for life with the girl of his dreams. The resourceful sixteen-year-old is learning the blacksmith trade from his father and frontier skills from Texas Revolution veterans. But when a portrait of David Crockett raises the possibility that the beloved frontiersman didn't die two years earlier, Silas joins a quest for the truth.

Exploring a world healing from the war, Silas and his fellow Texians investigate the accounts of Alamo survivors, follow a trail of clues across Texas and Mexico, and pursue a witness to the battle's final moments. Their odyssey turns lethal as layers of the last stand's mystery peel away to expose a shocking secret.

Will the revelation stun a nation or ignite a fatal showdown?

Rescuing Crockett is an adventure, a mystery, a thriller, and a love story set in the turbulent years of the Republic of Texas. If you like historical fiction in the tradition of Bernard Cornwell and Steven Pressfield, westerns in the tradition of Larry McMurtry and Paulette Jiles, high concept mystery thrillers in the tradition of Dan Brown, and Texas fiction in the tradition of Stephen Harrigan, you'll love David Z. Pyke's award-winning epic of the American West.


Product Details

BN ID: 2940166885876
Publisher: Leonard Street Publishing
Publication date: 06/13/2023
Series: Silas Grant
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: eBook
Sales rank: 523,855
File size: 865 KB

About the Author

David Z. Pyke is a native Texan related to one of the Alamo defenders. His great-great-great-great-great-granduncle, Isaac Millsaps, was one of the Immortal 32, the reinforcements from Gonzales who answered William Barret Travis's call for help, rode to San Antonio, and died in the Alamo on March 6, 1836.Pyke began writing professionally in 1975 and has written for newspapers, magazines, and websites.In 1991, a mutual friend introduced David to Suzanne, an English literature teacher from Missouri. Their first date was on Friday the 13th. Suzanne later confessed that before that first date, she read some of David's stories to see if he could write. Apparently, he received a passing grade. They were engaged five months later, married four months after that, and in 2022 celebrated their 30th anniversary.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews