by The X-ecutioners


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, August 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.



The X-Ecutioners dropped one of their best tracks on a Playstation 2 video game soundtrack, 2003's SSX 3. A lively, robotic number that showed the DJs were really thinking out of the box, "Like This" returns on the group's 2004 full-length Revolutions, and it's got some worthy company. Rapping at full force, Ghostface's appearance on "Live from the PJs" makes for the other instant highlight. Roots man Black Thought goes round for round with Ghostface, and the rickety looping of 7th Wonder's "Daisy Lady" seals the deal. Lyrically nailing it on "Back to Back," Saigon and Scram Jones are the unknown finds of the album. The B Real, Dead Prez, and Fat Joe tracks are all true hip-hop and very welcome. The more pop-oriented bits of the album -- a redo of "More Human Than Human" with Rob Zombie and Slug, "Let Me Rock" with punk-rapper Start Trouble -- don't fare as well, but they're flashy fun and good for a listen or two. The skits are hilarious (the one about bootlegging The Best of Lillo Thomas especially) and the scratching is tight, often acting as a funky, "wacka-wacka" guitar or just plain sounding like madness. As producers the boys have come far and the album is paced well, winding down with some smoky, deep numbers. The just fair pop tracks keep it from being classic, but this is the best the talented team has sounded on record yet.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2004
Label: Sony
UPC: 0696998713628
catalogNumber: 87136
Rank: 188760

Album Credits

Performance Credits

X-ecutioners   Primary Artist,scratching
Professionals   Group
Christian Dyas   Guitar,Keyboards
Todd Perlmutter   Drums
Roc Raida   Turntables,Rap,Group Member
Rob Zombie   Guest Appearance
Fat Joe   Guest Appearance
Ghostface Killah   Guest Appearance
Rob Swift   Turntables,Rap,Group Member
Black Thought   Guest Appearance
Total Eclipse   Turntables,Rap,Group Member
B Real   Vocals,Group Member
Phil Stanton   Drums,Group Member
Anthony Saffery   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,Sitar,Group Member
Dead Prez   Guest Appearance
Blue Man Group   Guest Appearance
Matt Goldman   Drums,Group Member
Chris Wink   Drums,Group Member
Trife   Guest Appearance
Josey Scott   Guest Appearance
D-Stroy   Vocals
R. Aguilar   Group Member
Slug   Guest Appearance
Luke Walker   Vocals,Group Member
Start Trouble   Guest Appearance
Aasim   Guest Appearance
Sly Boogie   Guest Appearance
Anikke Coleman   Background Vocals,Guest Appearance
Rock Marcy   Guest Appearance
Matt Stein   Guitar,Keyboards
Doctor Butcher   Keyboards

Technical Credits

M. Stein   Composer
T. Bailey   Composer
Roc Raida   Arranger,Producer,drum programming
S.I.D. Reynolds   Composer
Larry Heinemann   Engineer
Rob Swift   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Peter Kang   Executive Producer
Total Eclipse   Producer
Phil Stanton   Sound Effects
Andrew Schneider   Engineer
Anthony Saffery   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Sean C.   Producer
Sean Cane   Executive Producer
A. Williams   Composer
Matt Goldman   Sound Effects
Chris Wink   Sound Effects
R. Aguilar   Producer
T. Martin   Composer
Kyu M. Lee   Art Direction,Cover Illustration
Horse   Engineer
Hiroshima   Composer,Producer
James "JT" Knight   Engineer
Ratt Pakk   Producer
Matt Stein   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Robert Aguilar   Composer
Doctor Butcher   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews