Revue and War Years 1928-1952

Revue and War Years 1928-1952

by Noël Coward


$26.35 $28.99 Save 9% Current price is $26.35, Original price is $28.99. You Save 9%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Revue and War Years 1928-1952

JSP Records' 2009 four-CD box set The Revue and War Years 1928-1952 is virtually an unlicensed reissue of the 1992 Angel Records four-CD box set The Masters' Voice -- Noel Coward: His HMV Recordings 1928 to 1953. (There are some minor differences between the two collections, but they share almost all of the same tracks in the same chronological order.) Those studio recordings made by Coward had fallen into the public domain in Europe by the early 21st century, allowing any record company to put out its own version of them in any form it liked. Coward periodically recorded songs he had written for his musicals; independent songs he had written, such as "London Pride" (heard here in both master and alternate takes); excerpts from his plays featuring such co-stars as Gertrude Lawrence; and occasional covers of the songs of others, such as Jerome Kern and Oscar Hammerstein II's "The Last Time I Saw Paris." (He was also fond of organizing his material into medleys, and there are several examples here, too.) It all adds up to 73 tracks running nearly four and a half hours and including such standards as "A Room with a View," "Zigeuner," "World Weary," "Someday I'll Find You," "Mad Dogs and Englishmen," "I'll Follow My Secret Heart," "Mrs. Worthington," "Parisian Pierrot," "Poor Little Rich Girl," "Matelot," "Nina," and "Sail Away," all sung in Coward's slight but imperious tenor, a voice without much range, but with plenty of authority. Coward did not stop recording after leaving HMV Records in 1952, but this collection does mark the end of a phase of his work; hereafter, he would concentrate on whole LPs, not just 78-rpm singles. The work of the 1950s and '60s is worthy of its own box set.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/15/2009
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065190521
catalogNumber: 1905
Rank: 64701


Disc 1

  1. A Room with a View
  2. Dance, Little Lady
  3. Mary Make-Believe
  4. Try to Learn to Love
  5. Lorelei
  6. The Dream Is Over
  7. Zigeuner
  8. World Weary
  9. Private Lives - Love Scene Act 1: Someday I'll Find You
  10. Private Lives - Scene from Act II: I Never Realised/If You Were the Onl
  11. Half-Caste Woman
  12. Any Little Fish
  13. Cavalcade - Prologue: Soldiers of the Queen/Goodbye Dolly Gray/Private
  14. Lover of My Dreams
  15. Cavalcade - Vocal Selection: Soldiers of the Queen/Goodbye Dolly Gray/L
  16. Noel Coward Medley: Intro/Parisian Pierrot/Poor Little Rich Girl/A Room

Disc 2

  1. Let's Say Goodbye
  2. The Party's Over Now
  3. Something to Do with Spring
  4. Mad Dogs and Englishmen
  5. Tokay/World Weary/Caballero/Green Carnation/I'll See You Again/Poor Lit
  6. I'll Follow My Secret Heart
  7. I Travel Alone
  8. Most of Ev'ry Day
  9. Love in Bloom
  10. Fare Thee Well
  11. Mrs. Worthington
  12. We Were So Young
  13. Then Play, Orchestra, Play
  14. You Were There
  15. Has Anybody Seen Our Ship?
  16. Man About Town

Disc 3

  1. Family Album - The Toast
  2. Family Album - Hearts and Flowers
  3. Parisian Pierrot
  4. We Were Dancing
  5. Dearest Love
  6. Where Are the Songs We Sung?
  7. The Stately Homes of England
  8. Gipsy Melody
  9. Dearest Love
  10. I'll See You Again
  11. Just Let Me Look at You
  12. Poor Little Rich Girl
  13. London Pride
  14. The Last Time I Saw Paris
  15. Could You Please Oblige Us with a Bren Gun?
  16. There Have Been Songs in England
  17. Imagine the Duchess's Feelings!
  18. It's Only You
  19. Don't Let's Be Beastly to the Germans
  20. The Welcoming Land

Disc 4

  1. I'm Old Fashioned
  2. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  3. Sigh No More
  4. I Wonder What Happened to Him
  5. Matelot
  6. Nina
  7. Never Again
  8. Wait a Bit, Joe
  9. Bright Was the Day
  10. This Is a Changing World
  11. His Excellency Regrets
  12. Uncle Harry
  13. Josephine
  14. Don't Make Fun of the Fair
  15. Sail Away
  16. Noel Coward Medley: I'll See You Again/Dance Little Lady/Poor Little Ri
  17. Why Does Love Get in the Way?
  18. I Like America
  19. Time and Again
  20. There Are Bad Times Just Around the Corner
  21. London Pride

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews