Richard Strauss: Ariadne auf Naxos (Symphony-Suite); Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme - Suite

Richard Strauss: Ariadne auf Naxos (Symphony-Suite); Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme - Suite

by JoAnn FallettaJoAnn Falletta


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Instrumental suites of extracts have existed for some of the operas of Richard Strauss, and several new releases in the mid-2010s have filled in the gaps for those who lacked them. The new ingredient here is the suite from "Ariadne auf Naxos" (she was on the Naxos label way back in the day) by D. Wilson Ochoa, commissioned by Giancarlo Guerrero and the Nashville Symphony in 2010 but apparently recorded here for the first time. The opera is lyrical rather than tragic, and Ochoa wisely focuses on extracting some big tunes and connecting them economically rather than packing in too much detail. Sample "Ariadne"'s aria "Es gibt ein Reich," which makes the transition effortlessly to an instrumental melody. The "Ariadne suite" is paired with Strauss' own "Suite from Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme, Op. 60": not an opera but a set of incidental music for a Molière comedy that was easily pared down to the nine sparkling numbers heard here. The performances by JoAnn Falletta and the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra are all that could be desired, and Falletta is especially attuned to the drolleries of "Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme." An attractive Strauss disc, well recorded in the Buffalo Philharmonic's Kleinhans Hall home base.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/10/2017
Label: Naxos
UPC: 0747313346073
catalogNumber: 8573460
Rank: 133066


  1. Der Bürger als Edelmann (Le bourgeois gentilhomme), suite from the ballet for orchestra, Op. 60-IIIa (TrV 228c)

    1. 1. Ouverture zum I. Aufzug - Auftritt des Jourdain  (04:08)
    2. 2. Menuett  (01:42)
    3. 3. Der Frechtmeister  (01:49)
    4. 4. Auftritt und Tanz der Schneider  (05:22)
    5. 5. Das Menuett des Lully  (02:11)
    6. 6. Courante  (02:50)
    7. 7. Auftritt des Cléonte (Entrance of Cléonte (after Lully)  (04:09)
    8. 8. Prelude zum II. Aufzug  (03:23)
    9. 9. Das Diner (Tafelmusik und Tanz des Küchenjungen)  (10:41)
  2. Ariadne auf Naxos, opera, Op. 60-II (TrV 228a) (revised version)

    1. 1. Prologue (Overture to the Prologue)  (05:08)
    2. 2. Duet: Ein Augenblick ist wenig, ein Blick is viel  (03:54)
    3. 3. Waltz: Eine Störrische zu trösten  (06:11)
    4. 4. Overture: The Opera Overture - Ein Schönes War  (04:47)
    5. 5. Aria: Es gibt ein Reich  (06:20)
    6. 6. Interlude  (04:21)
    7. 7. Finale: Gibt es kein Hinüber?  (08:29)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews