Right Side of Zero

Right Side of Zero

by Darryl Purpose


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Right Side of Zero

Darryl Purpose's debut album is a bit of a stylistic hodgepodge, and it lacks the polish of his later works both in the songwriting and the production. But it nonetheless reveals his prodigious talents, and, as singer/songwriter premieres go, it's really a pretty strong piece of work. Producer Kevin Fisher (of Naked to the World) opts for an upbeat folk-pop sound, which is an appropriate choice on most of the tracks, since the songs tend to be less substantive and more hook-oriented than on Purpose's later records. "Don't Tear Down" and "Victory in the Struggle," for example, are catchy and engaging, but wouldn't have withstood the bare-bones production of the excellent Same River Twice. The best efforts here are the instrumental "Rootwing" and the gently folky title track, both of which would have fit in well on Purpose's later records. The weaker tracks on Right Side of Zero are those that venture into less sturdy stylistic terrain, like the gospel number "I Will Run," the romantic ballad "Old Rock and Roll Song," and the vaguely Caribbean "The Island Song." This album has the sound of a talented artist looking to impress with his virtuosity but not yet in full possession of his gifts -- a common flaw for first efforts and demo recordings.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/13/1996
Label: Tangible Music
UPC: 0703875680222
catalogNumber: 56802


  1. Rootwing
  2. The Island Song
  3. Victory in the Struggle
  4. Paint the Sky
  5. Sleep
  6. Right Side of Zero
  7. I Will Run
  8. Don't Tear Down
  9. I Can't Tell You
  10. Where You Can Find Me
  11. Miss Yoo
  12. Old Rock & Roll Song
  13. Rootwing Reprise

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Darryl Purpose   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Robert Strickland   Piano,Keyboards
Kevin Fisher   Bass,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Multi Instruments,Vocal Harmony
Jeff Gross   Percussion
Bruce Miller   Electric Guitar
Marty Rifkin   Bass,Electric Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Claudia Russell   Vocal Harmony
Mark Josephs   Harmonica
Roman Morykit   Fretless Bass Guitar
Daryl S.   Violin,Viola
Brenda Cohen-Peltier   Vocal Harmony

Technical Credits

Robert Strickland   Engineer
Kevin Fisher   Producer
Marty Rifkin   Engineer
Bob Lazo   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews