by ParamoreParamore


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


Move over, Avril; there's a new gun in town. And even though Paramore's lead singer Hayley Williams is a few years younger than her predecessor, she has a way bigger set of vocal pipes. Lavigne and Williams share a similar register, but Williams belts it out with way more control and authority. She may even be more of a respectable pop idol since her image isn't manufactured to be rebellious and angst-ridden; instead, Williams appears to be a genuinely sweet girl, bottling up a huge voice and a heart full of lost loves. On 2008's Riot!, she fills the majority of her punk-pop tales with emo angst and declarations of boy woes. Contrived as this may sound, her lyrics feel authentic and representative of actual teenage puppy love, where a breakup feels like the end of the world. Filled with crossover potential, the songs are consistant and zippy with catchy hooks in the vein of Boys Like Girls fronted by a young Shirley Manson. Meanwhile, the production is sparkling and heavily compressed due to the golden hands of David Bendeth, but these ultra-clean sonics also tend to cramp up the band -- clouding the dynamics and turning the listening experience into a relatively risk-free one. When the group breaks away from the chugging guitar Fall Out Boy formula, they're at their best. Mid-song breakdowns and cathartic power ballads (think "Don't Speak") showcase the band's maturity as musicians. More importantly, Williams shines through in these openings. In the last track, "Born for This," she takes a break from her love confessions and commands everyone to sing like it's the last song they will ever sing, making for a sentimental finale and a perfect closer for the live shows.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/12/2007
Label: Fueled By Ramen
UPC: 0075678998058
catalogNumber: 159612
Rank: 1694


  1. For a Pessimist, I'm Pretty Optimistic
  2. Thats What You Get
  3. Hallelujah
  4. Misery Business
  5. When It Rains
  6. Let the Flames Begin
  7. Miracle
  8. Crushcrushcrush
  9. We Are Broken
  10. Fences
  11. Born for This

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paramore   Primary Artist
John Bender   Strings,Background Vocals
Brian Weaver   Bass
Taylor Robinson   Vocals
Josh Farro   Guitar,Vocals
Zac Farro   Drums,Vocals
Hayley Williams   Vocals
Sebastian Davin   Piano
Kathleen Smith   Vocals
Jeremy Davis   Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

David Bendeth   Audio Production
John Bender   Arranger,Engineer,Vocal Producer
Dan Korneff   Engineer,Explosions
Kato Khandwala   Engineer
Mark Obriski   Art Direction
Josh Farro   Composer
Zac Farro   Composer
Hayley Williams   Composer

Customer Reviews