Ritmo Afro-Cubano

Ritmo Afro-Cubano


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Ritmo Afro-Cubano

Ritmo Afro-Cubano is an eclectic collection designed to show the depth and breadth of American jazz under Cuban influence. From Joe Holiday's "Mambo Holiday" in 1951 to Steve Berrios' "Bemsha Swing" in 1995, Fantasy collects 18 "lost treasures" for Latin jazz fans. Ritmo Afro-Cubano opens with fairly recent version of Juan Tizol's "Perdido" performed by Chico O'Farrill. It's a lively start, and O'Farrill's band offers a nice turn on this classic. Most of the tracks, however, are pulled from an earlier era, including the striking "Canto Guajiro" by the Benny Velarde Orchestra from 1962 and Andres Hernandez y Su Sexteto Caribe's spunky take on "Oye Mima." Of course, no Cuban-American jazz collection would be complete without something by Dizzy Gillespie, the composer who helped establish the genre in the '40s. He's joined by Machito for a high-flying version of "Exuberante." There are also pieces by other familiar names, including George Shearing's recording of "Mambo in Chimes" and Cal Tjader's version of "Descarga Cubana." While one could probably turn to Ritmo Afro-Cubano to trace the various lines that make up the development of the genre over the last 45 years, both new and old fans will probably be more interested in listening to all the great music.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2004
Label: Fantasy
UPC: 0025218247825
catalogNumber: 24778

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paul Horn   Flute
Ray Barretto   Conga
Joe Loco   Piano
Johnny Pacheco   Group Member
Jorge Dalto   Electric Piano
Eric Dolphy   Alto Saxophone
Eddie Duran   Guitar
Pete Escovedo   Percussion,Bongos,Conga,Vocals,Guiro
Robin Eubanks   Trombone
Dizzy Gillespie   Trumpet,Soloist
Milford Graves   Drums
Joe Holiday   Tenor Saxophone
Mel Martin   Flute
Ron McClure   Bass
Buddy Montgomery   Vibes
Wes Montgomery   Guitar
George Shearing   Piano
Luis Gasca   Trumpet
Lenny Hambro   Alto Saxophone
Ray Mantilla   Timbales,Group Member
Lloyd Mayers   Piano
Monk Montgomery   Bass
Armando Peraza   Percussion,Conga
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Michael Philip Mossman   Trumpet
Willie Rodriguez   Percussion,Piano
Phil Sunkel   Trumpet
Montego Joe   Conga
Jerry Rivera   Percussion
Milton Cardona   Group,Coros
Coke Escovedo   Timbales,Vocals
Barry Morrow   Trombone
McKibbon   Bass
Ben Riley   Drums
Papo Vazquez   Trombone,Soloist,Guest Appearance
Clifton Anderson   Conga
Francisco Aguabella   Percussion,Conga
Emmanuel K. Rahim   Conga
Mario Bauzá   Alto Saxophone
Steve Berrios   Percussion,Bongos,Conga,Drums,Bells,Timpani
Willie Bobo   Percussion,Timbales
Felo Brito   Vocals,Guiro
Pablo Calogero   Baritone Saxophone,Soloist
Rudy Calzado   Percussion,Vocals
Jose Canoura   Flute
Gene Casey   Piano
Juan Cheda   Percussion
Ricardo Chimelis   Timbales
Clark Terry   Trumpet
Julio Collazo   African Drums
Dan Collette   Trumpet
Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis   Tenor Saxophone
Carlos Duran   Bass
Manny Duran   Trumpet
Modesto Duran   Percussion
Bill Ellington   Bass
Joe Ford   Soprano Saxophone
Bob Franceschini   Tenor Saxophone
Tito Garcia   Vocals
Gibbons   Conductor,Tenor Saxophone
Andy González   Bass,Claves
Mario Grillo   Bongos,cowbell
Milton Hayes   Drums
René Hernández   Piano,African Drums
Marvin Horne   Guitar,Soloist
Jack Jeffers   Trombone
Arthur Jenkins   Piano
Lawrence Killian   Conga
Wito Kortwright   Guiro
Felix Legaretta   Violin
Jose Lozano   Flute
Jose Madera   Timbales
Nicholas Martinez   Timbales,Guiro
Earl McIntyre   Trombone
Sonny Morgan   Percussion
Manny Oquendo   Bongos,Maracas,Timbales,Bells,Guira,Timbalitos
Tim Ouimette   Trumpet
Armando Paolini   Piano
Victor Paz   Trumpet
Papo Pepin   Conga
Shirley Price   Piano,Vibes
Manuel Ramos   Timbales
Dan Reagan   Trombone,Guest Appearance
Emil Richards   Marimbas,Vibes
Mario Rivera   Tenor Saxophone
Jani Rodriguez   Timbales
Mickey Roker   Drums
Lionel Samuels   Vibes
Mongo Santamaría   Conga
Mauricio Smith   Alto Saxophone
Mike Stancerone   Violin
Terry Summa   Flute
Cal Tjader   Bongos,Vibes,Guiro
Benny Velarde   Timbales,Vocals
Arturo Velasco   Trombone,Soloist
Victor Venegas   Bass
Carlos Vidal   Percussion
Negro Vivar   Trumpet
Zulaica   Electric Piano
Jimmy Bosch   Trombone,Guest Appearance
George Delgado   Conga,Guichero
Gerald Chamberlain   Trombone
Charlie Simons   Vibes
Alfredito Valdez   Piano,Guiro
Ernesto "Ernie" Colon   Drums
Jon Hart   Bass
Ricky "Bongo" James   Bongos
Massamba   African Drums
Pazant   Trumpet
Carlos Castillo   Electric Bass
Arturo O'Farrill   Piano
Alfredo Lopez   Flute
Pete Bonet   Maracas,Guiro
Frank Snow   Trumpet
Leslie Yahonikan   Baritone Saxophone
Raul Gonzalez   Trumpet
Jose Chombo Silva   Violin,Tenor Saxophone
Andres Hernandez   Maracas,Vocals
Jim McCabe   Bass
Jim Seeley   Trumpet
Tony T. Torres   Maracas,Guiro
Rolando Briceno   Alto Saxophone
Leonard Goines   Trumpet
Jordan Fordin   Organ
Ricky Jackson   Bass
Nicola DeLuca   Bongos
Clarence Johnson   Bass
Larry "Lonnie" Gales   Bass
Ed Thompson   Bass

Technical Credits

Luiz Bonfá   Composer
Miles Davis   Composer
Joe Holiday   Composer
Armando Peraza   Composer
Papo Vazquez   Arranger
Francisco Aguabella   Producer
Emmanuel K. Rahim   Composer
Todd Barkan   Producer
Mario Bauzá   Producer
Steve Berrios   Arranger,Producer
Denzil Best   Composer
Edward Bogas   Producer
Ozzie Cadena   Producer
Ray Fowler   Producer
Lew Futterman   Producer
Gibbons   Arranger
Orrin Keepnews   Producer
Felix Legaretta   Arranger
Gilbert Lopez   Arranger,Composer
Antônio Maria   Composer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Chico O'Farrill   Composer
Shirley Price   Composer
Mongo Santamaría   Composer
Juan Tizol   Composer
Benny Velarde   Composer
Zulaica   Arranger
Osvaldo Estivill   Composer
Ramon Rivera   Composer
Jamie Putnam   Art Direction
Deb Sibony   Cover Art
Sergio González   Composer
Roger Sanders   Composer
Escovedo Brothers   Arranger
Guillermo Gonzalez   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews