River of Darkness (John Madden Series #1)

River of Darkness (John Madden Series #1)

by Rennie Airth
3.8 33

Hardcover(Large Print)

$26.52 $28.95 Save 8% Current price is $26.52, Original price is $28.95. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

River of Darkness (John Madden Series #1) by Rennie Airth

As rural England slowly emerges from the sorrow of World War I, a particularly vicious attack on a household in a small Surrey village leaves five butchered bodies and no explanation for the killings. Sent by Scotland Yard to investigate is Inspector John Madden, a man still recovering from his own war experience and from the deaths of his wife and child. The local police dismiss the slaughter as a botched robbery, but Madden detects the signs of a madman at work. With the help of beautiful Dr. Helen Blackwell, who introduces him to the new science of criminal psychology, Madden sets out to capture the killer, even as the murderer sets his sights on his next innocent victims.

As darkly stylish as the best P. D. James, rippled with tension and resonant with historical atmosphere, River of Darkness marks the debut of a powerful new voice in suspense writing.

"It's the tactics and terrain, the morale and the characters that make the difference between an average thriller and one as good as this. Airth has balanced savagery and civilization neatly, and given civilization just the barest edge."--Christopher Dickey, The New York Times Book Review

"An edge-of-the-seat serial-killer thriller set against a skillfully evoked backdrop of war--wounded England. Compelling stuff."--Robert Goddard, author of the Edgar nominee Beyond Recall

Rennie Airth worked as a foreign correspondent for Reuters for many years. River of Darkness was inspired by a scrapbook about his uncle, a soldier killed in World War I. Airth lives in Italy and is at work on a second novel featuring Inspector Madden.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780786223343
Publisher: Gale Group
Publication date: 01/28/2000
Series: John Madden Series , #1
Edition description: Large Print
Pages: 600
Product dimensions: 5.76(w) x 8.76(h) x 1.25(d)

About the Author

RENNIE AIRTH was born in South Africa and worked as a foreign correspondent for Reuters before becoming a novelist. He is the author of two other John Madden mysteries, River of Darkness —a finalist for the Edgar Award for Best Novel and a Macavity Award for Best Mystery, and a New York Times Notable Book—and The Blood-Dimmed Tide.  Rennie lives in Italy.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

River of Darkness (John Madden Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
DEDubois More than 1 year ago
Both my husband and I enjoyed this "first in the series" book and are eagerly looking forward to reading the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first time reading this author and I love dark mysteries especially those set in the period after WWI in England. I could not put the book down and the gruesome killer really grabs you and does not let go. A great read.
srw07 More than 1 year ago
A new series in the vein of Dorothy Sayers, Peter Robertson, Ian Rankin and Charles Todd which should appeal to readers interested in English mysteries and mid-20th century fiction.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I received this book as a present for my birthday and I wasn't sure whether I would enjoy the book as I didn't know the author. I started reading and enjoyed it so much that I couldn't wait to get home from work to start reading again. I liked all the aspects of the book and the descriptions of the First World War and the feelings of the soldiers were very well depicted. I would recommend this book to all readers of crime/detective novels and I can't wait for the sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
=Keep your money this is a waste. I thought this would be a great book because of the back of the book and the reviews but it wasn't. The story doesn't form quick enough and they continuously repeat things. This book is Historical Fiction which I can't stand but I was hoping it would make me like it but I was wrong.get back to me in 25 years and maybe I would finish it. Yes I didn't finish reading it. I couldn't even get pass page 100 because it was that boring.
nhr3bookcrazyNR More than 1 year ago
Very intense start to a new series. This book involves post-WWI England, Scotland yard, grisly murders, an unexpected romance, and excellent detective work. I loved the book. I cannot wait to get the next book in the series. I highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She watches concerned and scared
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written and excellent plot. A head above the rest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Philly-reader More than 1 year ago
I agree with much of the high praise others have given this book. I did, however, find Dr. Helen' Blackwell's frequent laughter a little unbelievable, given her place in the setting and relationship to the local people. I often found her annoying. Lots of beautiful writing in this book without phony, flowery ramblings. Madden is a most intriguing character, even more mysterious than the mystery he has to solve.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lotto53 More than 1 year ago
For the reader that enjoys a great english thriller,this is great. Intelligent , THOUGHTFUL , Characters you care about. The author is great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago