Robert A. Heinlein: Volume 1 (1907-1949): Learning Curve

Robert A. Heinlein: Volume 1 (1907-1949): Learning Curve

by William H. Patterson Jr.
5.0 1

Paperback(First Edition)

$18.76 $26.99 Save 30% Current price is $18.76, Original price is $26.99. You Save 30%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, October 20 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 


Robert A. Heinlein: Volume 1 (1907-1949): Learning Curve by William H. Patterson Jr.

Robert A. Heinlein (1907–1988) is generally considered the greatest American SF writer of the twentieth century. A famous and bestselling author in later life, he started as a navy man and graduate of Annapolis who was forced to retire because of tuberculosis. A socialist politician in the 1930s, he became one of the sources of Libertarian politics in the United States in his later years.

His most famous works include the Future History series (stories and novels collected in The Past Through Tomorrow and continued in later novels), Starship Troopers, Stranger in a Strange Land, and The Moon is a Harsh Mistress. He was a friend of admirals and of bestselling writers and artists, and was on the advisory committee that helped Ronald Reagan create the Star Wars Strategic Defense Initiative. Given his desire for privacy in the later decades of his life, he was both stranger and more interesting than one could ever have known.

This is the first of two volumes of a major American biography. Robert A. Heinlein: Volume 1 (1907–1948): Learning Curve is about Robert A. Heinlein's life up to the end of the 1940s and the midlife crisis that changed him forever.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780765319623
Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates
Publication date: 06/21/2011
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 640
Product dimensions: 5.96(w) x 9.18(h) x 1.15(d)

About the Author

William H. Patterson, Jr., is an independent scholar who has published two books about Heinlein as well as numerous articles. He is an editor and contributor to the Virginia Edition Collected Works of Robert A. Heinlein. He lives in Los Angeles.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Robert A. Heinlein: Volume 1 (1907-1949): Learning Curve 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Lee44FL More than 1 year ago
Loved to see how Heinlen put his life together with his early work..You can see some of the characters emerging...Looking forward to the second volume..