Rock Star #1

Rock Star #1

Paperback

$6.74 $6.99 Save 4% Current price is $6.74, Original price is $6.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Overview

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy engaging with science-loving Jada Jones in this easy-to-read chapter book.

When Jada Jones's best friend moves away, school feels like the last place she wants to be. She'd much rather wander outside looking for cool rocks to add to her collection, since finding rocks is much easier than finding friends. So when Jada's teacher announces a class project on rocks and minerals, Jada finally feels like she's in her element. The only problem: one of her teammates doesn't seem to like any of Jada's ideas. She doesn't seem to like Jada all that much, either. Can Jada figure out a way to make a winning science project and a new friend?  

The early chapter book bridges between leveled readers and chapter books for fluent readers adjusting to the chapter book format. At about 5,000 words, with short chapters and two-color art on almost every page, it will appeal to this unique reader. The two-color art throughout will help readers transition from the familiar four-color art of leveled readers and ease them into black-and-white chapter books.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780448487519
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 09/19/2017
Series: Jada Jones Series , #1
Pages: 96
Sales rank: 87,845
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.60(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range: 6 - 8 Years

About the Author

Kelly Starling Lyons is the author of Hope's Gift and Tea Cakes for Tosh. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and daughter and son, who love collecting rocks just like Jada.

Vanessa Brantley Newton is a self-taught artist with a great passion for children's books and fashion illustration. As an illustrator, she includes children of all ethnic backgrounds in her artwork so that every child sees their unique experience reflected in the stories they read. She celebrates self-love and acceptance of all cultures through her work, and hopes to inspire young readers to find their own voices. Vanessa has illustrated over 30 books, and has written and illustrated the picture books Let Freedom Sing and Don't Let Auntie Mabel Bless The Table. She lives in Charlotte, North Carolina with her husband and daughter, and a crazy cat named Stripes.

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One: Best Friend Blues
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Rock Star #1"
by .
Copyright © 2017 Kelly Starling Lyons.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Rock Star #1 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
CRGehringer More than 1 year ago
Lyons creates a likeable character in Jada Jones. She hits just the right note of spunk without being sassy to adults, and just the right note of vulnerability without being weak. Jada is an African-American 4th grader who appeals to young readers. She has her struggles but her stories promote good values such as believe in yourself, say no to drama, and try to fix your mistakes. Most of all, her stories show that to have a friend, one must be a friend. Lyons’ books are delightfully illustrated by Vanessa Brantley Newton in these easy-to-read chapter books. Readers in 1st-3rd grade will enjoy meeting Jada and her friends!
MGYABookJunkie More than 1 year ago
This chapter book wins 5 stars from me for being fast-paced and easy-to-read with relatable, interesting characters including BFF to all, Jada Jones❤️. Add to this Jada’s love of science and Vanessa Brantley Newton’s gorgeous illustrations––and BOOM! This becomes a book I’m excited to recommend to all my young friends.