Rodney Franklin/You'll Never Know

Rodney Franklin/You'll Never Know

by Rodney Franklin


$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, September 22 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Rodney Franklin/You'll Never Know

This two-disc set from Superbird in the U.K. combines Rodney Franklin's first two albums from 1980. His self-titled debut recording is a fine weave of soulful, lightly textured fusion and funky jazz with tight arrangements by Tom Tom and Patrick Williams. Franklin plays both acoustic and electric piano, often overdubbed on the same track. Highlights include an excellent cover of "Windy City," the shimmering "On the Path," and the easy, spine-slipping funk in "I Like the Music, Make It Hot." You'll Never Know moves one foot out of electric fusion and into what would become known as "crossover" or "smooth jazz," with some acoustic post-bop in the mix as well. The album's single, "The Groove," an infectious, instrumental meld of jazz-funk and soul, was a bona fide radio and club hit. Franklin reveals twin talents as both composer and soloist on wide-ranging pieces that include the ethereal "The Watcher," and the modally adventurous post-bop of "Return," the dreamy yet melancholy "Journey," and the dancefloor stepper that closes this set out, "Parkay Man." Given the price, sound, and musical quality of both these records, any fan of sophisticated, R&B-flavored fusion and smooth jazz from the era will be delighted by this comp.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2011
Label: Superbird
UPC: 5013929884021
catalogNumber: 2988402
Rank: 55310

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rodney Franklin   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals,Choir Conductor
Victor Feldman   Percussion
Bobby Bryant   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Phil Upchurch   Guitar
Phyllis Saint James   Percussion,Vocals,Hand Clapping
Oscar Brashear   Flugelhorn
Dennis Budimir   Guitar
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Nathan East   Bass
Janice Gower   Concert Master
Freddie Hubbard   Flugelhorn
Brooks Hunnicutt   Vocals
David Luell   Lyricon
Guy Lumia   Concert Master
Marti McCall   Vocals,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Don Myrick   Strings,Horn,Soprano Saxophone
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Lisa Roberts   Vocals
Vincent Spaulding   Guitar
Maurice Spears   Strings,Horn
Tony St. James   Drums,Hand Clapping
Tom Tom 84   Hand Clapping
Carmen Twillie   Vocals,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Ernie Watts   Flute,Bass Clarinet
Atron Gregory   Hand Clapping
Foreman   Musician
Merrit   Musician
Leonard Gibbs   Percussion
Gerry Vinci   Strings,Concert Master
Audrey Franklin   Vocals,Background Vocals
"Angel" Ahgela Brooks   Hand Clapping
Audrey "the Whislte" Franklin   Hand Clapping
Effie Griffin   Hand Clapping
Lynn Griffin   Hand Clapping
Jessie Fair   Hand Clapping

Technical Credits

Rodney Franklin   Arranger,Composer,Vocal Arrangements,rhythm arrangement
Patrick Williams   String Arrangements
Phyllis Saint James   Vocal Arrangements
Paul Buckmaster   Producer,String Arrangements
Don Hahn   Producer,Engineer
Jerry Hey   Horn Arrangements
Benard Ighner   Composer,rhythm arrangement
Mark Needham   Engineer
Byron Olson   Arranger,String Arrangements
Chris Musto   Repackaging Design
A. Franklin   Composer
Thomas C. Washington   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Bob Fisher   Liner Notes
George Butler   Producer,Executive Producer
Michael Zipkin   Original Liner Notes
Ken Smikle   Original Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews