Romantic Cuba

Romantic Cuba

by J.P. TorresJ.P. Torres


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 21


The opening tracks of Romantic Cuba are culled from the November 1975 sessions where master trombone player Juan Pablo Torres puts his instrument down to orchestrate and direct the EGREM Orchestra in a compelling and substantial way. It's as exotic and exhilarating as the best moments of Paul Mauriat, heavy orchestration over the piano of Pedro Coto. Why this material wasn't exported to the world is the real question, significant "space age bachelor pad" music that would make Esquivel proud (though sans any of his experimentation and with none of Ferrante & Teicher's playfulness). "Cuenta Conmigo" is as invigorating as "Terrible Sueño" is stimulating, the percussive precision as no-nonsense as the guitar, piano, and strings. Marvelously inspiring track after track, these once hidden sounds recorded in San Miguel, Havana, delight in the same way that Percy Faith's "Theme from a Summer Place" and Peter Nero's "Theme from Summer of '42" are immortal memories for fans of pop radio in the early '60s and early '70s, respectively. This music made a mere four years after Nero's 1971 hit is like an undiscovered sequel. Don't expect the type of music found on the Algo Nuevo: Súper-Son/Con Todos los Hierros compilation, also released on the Malanga Music label, to show up on the first half of Romantic Cuba, which is the re-release of the orchestrated Mangle: Instrumental LP. It's the second half of the disc -- a re-release of the album Grupo Algo Nuevo -- that returns listeners to the traditional trombone-meets-percussive sounds found on Súper-Son. And in this context it works very well, the superb orchestration a not-so-odd doppelgänger to this rhythmic Cuban excursion, at times displaying a bit of what made Hugo Montenegro such a splendid moviegoing experience. The packaging is excellent, with detailed liner notes by Helio Orovio, full-color LP cover reproductions inside the booklet, and flawless sound on the CD itself. A definite treasure.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/17/2007
Label: Malanga Films Spain
UPC: 8436019588086
catalogNumber: 808
Rank: 81095


  1. Si Te Contara
  2. Añorado Encuentro
  3. Sí, Déjame Mirarte
  4. Mangle
  5. Pequeña Serenata Diurna
  6. Cuenta Conmigo
  7. Terrible Sueño
  8. Y Es Verdad
  9. En Los Días Invernales
  10. Tonada No. 1
  11. ¿Por Qué No Te Besé?
  12. Encuéntrate
  13. Malagueña
  14. Bésame Mucho
  15. Chimbombo
  16. Para Vigo Me Voy/Frenesí/El Bodeguero
  17. Siboney
  18. Son Naciente
  19. Dame un Traguito
  20. El Cumbanchero/Drume Negrita/El Manisero

Album Credits

Performance Credits

J.P. Torres   Primary Artist,Trombone,Soloist
Jesus Rubalcaba   Piano,Keyboards
Pedro Coto   Piano
Modesto Fusté   Conga

Technical Credits

Ernesto Lecuona   Composer
Jordi Soley   Executive Producer
Carlos Puebla   Composer
J.P. Torres   Arranger,Director,Producer,Orchestration
Tony Lopez Con Los Braddy's   Engineer
Eliseo Grenet   Composer
Jorge Rodriguez   Producer
Helio Orovio   Liner Notes,Author
Rafael Padron   Engineer
Luis Yañez   Producer
Juan Almeida   Composer
Juan Arrondo   Composer
Ramón Alón   Engineer
Eric Mills   Producer,English Translations
Medardo Montero   Engineer
Javier Hernández   Composer

Customer Reviews