Romeo and Juliet (1880 version), TH 42: Study score

Romeo and Juliet (1880 version), TH 42: Study score

by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


First composed in 1869, Tchaikovsky's popular overture-fantasia was premiered in Moscow on March 16, 1870 with the Russian Musical Society under the baton of Nikolay Rubinstein. The composer expanded the work later that year, which was the first version published (1871, Berlin) and this second version was given in St. Petersburg at that city's branch of the RMS under Eduard Napravnik. Still not quite satisfied, Tchaikovsky revised the work again in 1880, the German publisher issuing the final version the following year. This is the standard version known and heard in concerts worldwide today. Despite this, the final version's first performance wasn't even given in Russia proper, but in Tbilisi, Georgia on March 1, 1886, conducted by Mikhail Ippolitov-Ivanov. The newly engraved study score offered here is a reduced-format reissue of the edition by Howard K. Wolf of the large score first issued by E.F. Kalmus in 2012.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781608741465
Publisher: Serenissima Music
Publication date: 03/30/2015
Pages: 64
Product dimensions: 7.44(w) x 9.69(h) x 0.13(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews