Roots with Quality [Brilliant Box]

Roots with Quality [Brilliant Box]

by Niney the Observer


$21.06 $21.99 Save 4% Current price is $21.06, Original price is $21.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, August 29 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Roots with Quality [Brilliant Box]

Giving the Sanctuary label's 2005 set Blood & Fire some serious competition, Roots with Quality is VP's stab at collecting the work of reggae producer Winston Holness aka Niney the Observer. Niney has forever lived in the shadow of his mentor Lee Perry -- and you only need to look at their respective nicknames of "The Observer" and "The Upsetter" for clues as to why -- but in the background he created a stunning amount of vital material during the '70s. Besides his own call to arms "Blood & Fire" which opens the set, there's Michael Rose's original version of Black Uhuru's international hit "Guess Who's Coming to Dinner," plus the Junior Byles standard "Weeping," which is a prime example of why the singer was dubbed "the man of many voices." Having Dennis Brown's great protest number "Wolf & Leopards" in its disco mix means Bongo Herman's dank dub is attached, and with Gregory Isaacs' "Slave Master" segueing into Ranking Buckers' "Captives" thanks to the set's love of 12"s, the reggae faithful will jump immediately to disc two. Closing the set is a series of lesser-known but still high-quality tracks from the '80s that fell into obscurity thanks to the public's shift in taste to dancehall music. Sticking with the title's promise of "Roots," Niney's digital/dancehall output -- as worthy as it may be -- is ignored. Still, Roots with Quality goes well past the Sanctuary set's stop date of 1978, and with great track-by-track commentary, Roots has the ever-so-slight advantage over Blood.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/03/2009
Label: Vp Records
UPC: 0054645414821
catalogNumber: 4148
Rank: 278616

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Niney the Observer   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Ken Boothe   Composer
Junior Delgado   Composer
Heptones   Composer
I-Roy   Composer
Scientist   Engineer
Mort Shuman   Composer
Barnabas   Engineer
Leroy Smart   Composer
Barrett Strong   Composer
Errol Brown   Engineer
Peter Chemist   Engineer
Winston "Niney" Holness   Composer,Author,Remixing,Audio Production
Gregory Isaacs   Composer
Freddie McGregor   Composer
Niney the Observer   Arranger,Producer,Executive Producer
Lee "Scratch" Perry   Engineer
Doc Pomus   Composer
Phillip Smart   Engineer
T. Taylor   Composer
Errol Thompson   Engineer
Baby Wayne   Composer
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Delroy Wilson   Composer
Christopher Chin   Executive Producer,Audio Production
D. Brown   Composer
Crucial Bunny   Engineer
Horace Hinds   Composer
Horace Swaby   Composer
Manley Buchanan   Composer
B. Brown   Composer
Solgie Hamilton   Engineer
Sidney Bucknor   Engineer
Daddy Lion Chandell   Liner Notes
L. Smart   Composer
L. Newland   Composer
L. Minott   Composer
G. Manning   Composer
E. Francis   Composer
L. Perry   Composer
J. Byles   Composer
M. Rose   Composer
W. Boswell   Composer
M. Smith   Composer
M. Grant   Composer
J. Delgado   Composer
L. Dillon   Composer
J. Miller   Composer
B. Davis   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews