The Rosary Girls (Kevin Byrne & Jessica Balzano Series #1)

The Rosary Girls (Kevin Byrne & Jessica Balzano Series #1)

by Richard Montanari
4.6 29

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, September 27 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

The Rosary Girls (Kevin Byrne & Jessica Balzano Series #1) by Richard Montanari

In his sleek, visceral novels Deviant Way, Kiss of Evil, and The Violet Hour, Richard Montanari slammed into the suspense field like a force of nature. Now Montanari has written an astounding novel that pits two besieged detectives against a fiercely intelligent serial killer.

Sprawling beneath the statue of William Penn, Philadelphia is a city of downtrodden crack houses and upscale brownstones. Somewhere in this concrete crazy quilt, one teenage Catholic girl is writing in her diary, another is pouring her heart out to a friend, and yet another is praying. And somewhere in this city is a man who wants these young women to make his macabre fantasy become reality. In a passion play of his own, he will take the girls–and a whole city–over the edge.

Kevin Byrne is a veteran cop who already knows that edge: He’s been living on it far too long. His marriage failing, his former partner wasting away in a hospital, and his heart lost to mad fury, Byrne loves to take risks and is breaking every rule in the book. And now he has been given a rookie partner. Jessica Balzano, the daughter of a famous Philly cop, doesn’t want Byrne’s help. But they will need each other desperately, since they’ve just caught the case of a lifetime: Someone is killing devout young women, bolting their hands together in prayer, and committing an abomination upon their otherwise perfect bodies.

Byrne and Balzano spearhead the hunt for the serial killer, who leads them on a methodically planned journey. Suspects appear before them like bad dreams–and vanish just as quickly. And while Byrne’s sins begin to catch up with him, and Balzano tries to solve the blood-splattered puzzle, the body count rises. Meanwhile, the calendar is approaching Easter and the day of the resurrection. When the last rosary is counted, a madman’s methods will be revealed, and the final crime will be the one that hurts the most.

Relentlessly paced and vividly told, The Rosary Girls is a smart, emotionally complex, fiercely gripping thriller from an author who takes chances, breaks new ground, and leaves readers haunted and moved long after the last page is turned.

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780345470966
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 02/28/2006
Series: Kevin Byrne & Jessica Balzano Series , #1
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 238,847
Product dimensions: 4.20(w) x 6.90(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

RICHARD MONTANARI is a novelist, screenwriter, and essayist. His work has appeared in the Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Cleveland Plain Dealer, and scores of other national and regional publications. He is the OLMA-winning author of the internationally acclaimed thrillers Kiss of Evil, Deviant Way, and The Violet Hour–all published in more than twenty countries. Visit the author’s website at www.richardmontanari.com.

From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Rosary Girls 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly recommend this book if you are a fan of police crime thrillers. Great story with interesting characters. I thought I had it figured out a number of times, but nope, not until the end. Even then I was wrong!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I do a lot of reading and when I picked up this book, I thought 'more of the same in this genre'. Wow! was I wrong. This was a fast paced, twisted ,suspenseful thriller. You really don't know 'who done it?' until the last few pages, though there are many twists and turns up until then. If you are looking for a great read in this milieu this is it. And besides all of that you learn something of the rituals of the rosary and coincidently you travel the mean streets of Philadelphia
Guest More than 1 year ago
THE ROSARY GIRLS is one of the finest novels I have ever read. It is fast paced and filled with page after page of seat-edged suspense. The book is difficult to put down and will keep you awake long into the night. The characters are extremely well drawn. Even the secondary characters have substance and depth. The dialogue is smooth and realistic, never stilted or boring. The first thing you will want to do when you finish this novel is read another of Richard Montanari¿s novels. Unfortunately, his previous novels are not readily available. The best thing this author¿s agent/publisher could do would be to reissue his backlist. It would be an act of kindness to all of us who favor the suspense or mystery genre. This author should be encouraged to write, write and then write some more. Fans of James Patterson, John Grisham, Sue Grafton, Michael Connelly, Mary Higgins Clark, Nelson DeMille and John Lescroart will add Richard Montanari to their list of favorite authors.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Excellent book.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Good book...could not put down.
SkyeCaitlin More than 1 year ago
This is an exceptional suspense novel that also fits well in the realms of psychological thriller. It contains police procedurals and can also be categorized as a hard, gritty cop tale . It focuses on a serial killer on the dangerous streets of Philadelphia. Although Philly has many lovely parts ( it's my home town) there are other regions that are quite shockingly deadly. This novel depicts religion turned fanatical; sorrow leads to revenge and then turns quite ghastly. This is a fast-paced novel with many twists, turns and gruesome descriptions. Montanari is a masterful writer who puts a special twist into each scene. He exhibits unique command of standard written English, a talent for plot, a brilliance in presenting characters and developing them, and a understanding of human nature. This book earns four and a half stars. I like the personal touch of core characterizations; the excellent use of typical Philly colloquialisms and the many underlying mini-tales that add up to create a wonderful reading experience. If this was based on 'likability' I would give it a high five.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love stories that twist me up until I can't figure out the ending. Its hard to surprise me and I was surprised.
quimbey More than 1 year ago
The author is an excellent writer, but I just can't get into this book. It seems there is just too much "intro" stuff to be able to get into the book for me. I'm disappointed because I'd heard good things about the books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was gripping. Hard to put down at night. Highly recommended read. Will see what else has been written by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Agatha_mystery_lover More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up in the afternoon & did not want to put it down until I was done! I found the story complex and I kept guessing 'who did it' - I read a lot of mysteries and this is the first one is a while that totally hooked me in. I really enjoyed this book because other than the mystery I felt the characters were being developed as opposed to being two dimensional. Also the topic of young girls being murdered isn't exactly pleasant, but the author didn't go into gory details with the murders. I find alot of newer mystery writers try to go all CSI with how the bodies are found and what exactly were done to them. This book did discuss those topics but not ad nauseum like some others do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TWTaz More than 1 year ago
This was my first book by this author. It will not be my last! Great thriller that had me on the edge of my seat and kept me guessing until the end. Looking forward to Kevin & Jessica's next case!
ClarkP More than 1 year ago
The Rosary Girls is very engaging and addicting. I enjoyed the characters in this book because they aren't portrayed as perfect, they are real people with their own flaws. Philadelphia provided an interesting setting for this mystery/thriller. The sadistic killer was demented, which is made obvious from the gruesome details in the book. Richard Montanari is an author that I would recommend to anyone who enjoys dark and gritty suspenseful thrillers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
got this book from an equally addicted mystery reading friend and agree with her strong reccommendation! great plot lines, interesting characters and scary without being over the top!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This truely is a great book. It keeps you guessing till the last page. Was hard to put down. Was one of those books that you couldn't wait for the end so you found out who was doing the killings, then when you have finished the book you missed the characters. The good news is Mr. Montanari has written a follow up book (The Skin Gods) with the same detectives.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent read. Make sure you have time to read because this will keep you up all night wanting to read the next page. It will keep you guessing until the very end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the kind of book that you start reading and just can't wait until you get to the next page. Everyone is a suspect and it keeps you guessing to the end.