Roseblood: A gripping tale of a turbulent era in English history

Roseblood: A gripping tale of a turbulent era in English history

by Paul Doherty

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

1455, and as war approaches, each must choose their allegiance...

Master historian Paul Doherty brings to life the brutal world of London in 1455 as he tells the epic story of the advent of the Wars of the Roses. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Susanna Gregory.

'Deliciously suspenseful, gorgeously written and atmospheric' -Historical Novels Review

England, 1455: a kingdom on the brink of civil war.
The Red Rose: King Henry of Lancaster's days are numbered. Deemed unfit for rule, even by his own mother, he surely cannot last on the throne for long. Simon Roseblood - London lord, taverner and alderman - is one of few loyal servants left to fight his cause.

The White Rose: Ruthless Richard of York has his eye firmly set on the crown - and plenty of powerful allies who will do anything to help him win it. Henchman Amadeus Sevigny makes no bones about enforcing his own authority and asserting law and order at York's command.
When Roseblood is summoned by Sevigny to stand trial for a crime he knows he didn't commit, their paths cross in ways that alter them both for ever. And as the Wars of the Roses looms, an even greater foe is poised to rock the foundations of England, and wreak horror in a hotbed of political unrest.

What readers are saying about Roseblood:
'Paul Doherty is a synonym for quality and entertainment'
'A compelling tale of historical fiction that exudes accuracy and detail'
'The book is as entertaining as it is fascinating [and] satisfying as intricate plots and plans are revealed. The author takes the reader deep into this world of squalor and colour, stench and gore, death and deception, introducing characters whose strengths and weaknesses keep the tale alive and compelling'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780755395996
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing, Limited
Publication date: 06/05/2014
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 346,193
File size: 807 KB

About the Author

Paul Doherty was born in Middlesbrough. He studied History at Liverpool and Oxford Universities and obtained a doctorate for his thesis on Edward II and Queen Isabella. He is now headmaster of a school in north-east London and lives with his family in Essex.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews