Rough Trade Shops - Psych Folk 2010

Rough Trade Shops - Psych Folk 2010


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Rough Trade Shops - Psych Folk 2010

Rough Trade Shops - Psych Folk 2010 collects twenty one, modern day troubadours doing their best to both honor and propel the genre that inspired them. Psych-folk, freak-folk, acid folk (whatever you want to call it) has enjoyed a mild renaissance over the last decade or so, and outfits like Philadelphia's Pentangle/Shirley Collins-loving Espers, drone and raga-heavy, Northern California band Six Organs of Admittance and modern day Scottish bard Alasdair Roberts, all of whom appear on this fine compilation, have managed to wiggle their way into the lower falls of the mainstream. Lesser known acts like the Steeleye Span/Fairport Convention-inspired Owl Service and the fuzzed out, Brooklyn-based Woods offer up some quality stuff as well, resulting in one of the better genre samplers of the year.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/31/2010
Label: Imports
UPC: 0602527462424
catalogNumber: 897963

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Beth Orton   Vocals
Sveinbjarnardóttir   Violin
Alasdair Roberts   Synthesizer,Guitar,Bass Guitar,Vocals
Sam Amidon   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Vocals
Tom Crossley   Flute,Vocals
Shahzad Ismaily   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Drums,Background Vocals
Nico Muhly   Piano
Helga Bjorg Arnardottir   Clarinet
Hrafnkell Orri Egilsson   Cello
Pete Greenwood   Guitar,Piano,Hammond Organ,Vocals
Þórarinn Már Baldursson   Viola
Helgi Hrafn Jónsson   Trombone
Gordon Ferries   Baroque Guitar
Matthias Nardeau   English Horn,Oboe
Chris Walmsley   Drums
Alex Neilson   Drums
Rebekka Bryandís Björnsdóttir   Bassoon
Sigrún Eðvaldsdóttir   Violin
Melkorka Ólafsdóttir   Flute
Rory Gibson   Bass Guitar
Rick Tomlinson   Guitar,Vocals
James Bulley   Piano

Technical Credits

Kath Bloom   Composer,Producer
J Mascis   Producer,Engineer
Jimmy Robertson   Engineer
Rob Young   Liner Notes
Tim Fowler   Artwork,Layout
Sam Smith   Engineer
Greg Weeks   Producer,Engineer
Steven R. Smith   Composer
Brian McTear   Engineer
Kevin Barker   Composer
Randall Dunn   Producer,Engineer
Alasdair Roberts   Composer,Whistle
Sam Amidon   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Simon Russell   Producer,Artwork,Layout
Zak Riles   Composer
Espers   Composer
Dave Moran   Arranger
Jack Rose   Composer
Jeremy Earl   Composer
Jarvis Taveniere   Engineer
Justin Pizzoferrato   Producer,Engineer
Valgeir Sigurðsson   Engineer
Pete Greenwood   Composer,Producer
Emily McLaren   Engineer
C. Joynes   Arranger
Laura Naukkarinen   Composer
Sleepy Sun   Composer
Keith Wood   Composer
Hush Arbors   Engineer
Owl Service   Arranger
John Cavanagh   Producer
Alex Neilson   Composer,Producer
Dean Pawlowic   Producer
Jason Steel   Composer
Men-an-Tol   Composer
Ben Chasney   Composer
Rick Tomlinson   Composer,Engineer
Jim Krein   Composer
James Bulley   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews