Rudy's Memory Walk

Rudy's Memory Walk

by Gloria Velásquez

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.49 $9.99 Save 15% Current price is $8.49, Original price is $9.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Rudy's Memory Walk by Gloria Velásquez

Rudy can’t believe it when his dad says he will have to watch his abuela while his parents go out. He shouldn’t have to babysit his own grandmother! And he had plans to go out with his girlfriend, Juanita. His brother Manuel isn’t happy either, and won’t even consider watching Abuela alone.

Nothing has been going right since Abuela moved in. Manuel had to give up his own room and move into Rudy’s, and both boys are unhappy about losing their privacy. Abuela’s forgetfulness and weird behavior has everyone worried, and Rudy’s mom in particular spends lots of time crying.   When Abuela disappears one day, they can’t ignore the problem anymore. A trip to the doctor confirms what they feared: Abuela has Alzheimer’s. What are they going to do? They can’t lock her up, but they can’t be with her every minute of the day either.

As Rudy juggles everything going on in his senior year at Roosevelt High School, including his relationship with Juanita and his friends’ attempts to convince him to enroll in college, his feelings of guilt grow. He can’t help but wish he had his room to himself and that life would go back to the way it was before Abuela moved in.

Rudy’s Memory Walk is the eighth novel in Gloria Velasquez’s popular Roosevelt High School series, which features a multiracial group of teenaged students who must individually confront social and cultural issues (such as violence, sexuality, and prejudice) that young adults face.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781611927573
Publisher: Arte Publico Press
Publication date: 10/31/2009
Series: Roosevelt High School Series
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 282 KB
Age Range: 11 - 17 Years

About the Author

GLORIA L. VELÁSQUEZ is an award-winning writer of poetry and fiction. She is the author of two poetry collections, I Used to Be a Superwoman  (1997) and  Xicana on the Run (2006), and the Roosevelt High School Series: Tyrone’s Betrayal (2006), Teen Angel  (2003), Ankiza (2000), Rina’s Family Secret  (1998), Maya’s Divided World (1995), Tommy Stands Alone (1995), and Juanita Fights the School Board (1994), all from Piñata Books. Velásquez is currently a professor in the Modern Languages and Literatures Department at California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo, California.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews