Pub. Date:
ABC-CLIO, Incorporated
Sacred Symphony

Sacred Symphony

by Jon M. Spencer, William C. Turner


Current price is , Original price is $64.0. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.


The first and only collection of its kind, Sacred Symphony contains 100 transcriptions of muscial excerpts from the chanted sermons of contemporary black preachers. In his introduction to the pieces that follow, author John Michael Spencer argues that there is an observable correlation between the chanted sermons of today's black preachers and the antebellum spiritual. He shows that the pieces collected here, each of which spontaneously evolved during the course of a sermon or prayer service, are themselves spirituals containing similar musical components—melody, rhythm, call and response, counterpoint, harmony, form, and improvisation.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780313259999
Publisher: ABC-CLIO, Incorporated
Publication date: 12/04/1987
Series: Contributions in Afro-American and African Studies Series , #11
Pages: 160
Product dimensions: 6.14(w) x 9.21(h) x 0.44(d)

About the Author

JON MICHAEL SPENCER is Visiting Postdoctoral Scholar in the Department of Music and Divinity School at Duke University.

Table of Contents




Give Me Jesus

You Must Have That True Religion

Didn't My Lord Deliver Daniel?

A Little Talk With Jesus Makes It Right

Every Time I Feel The Spirit

Ride On, King Jesus

In that Great Gettin' Up Morning

Everybody Talkin' 'Bout Heaven Ain't Goin' There

Don't Be Weary Traveler

Were You There When They Crucified My Lord?

Walking Together Children

Selected Bibliography

Index of First Lines


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews