Samhane

Samhane

Paperback

$14.95

Overview

A novel by Daniel I. Russell?Donald Patterson travels to Samhane in pursuit of a sadistic murderer and rapist. Unless Donald reaches Orchard House by midnight, his fiancee will be the star of the next torturous broadcast....??
Brian Rathbone and his son are already in Samhane, hired by the mayor. Specialist exterminators, their talents have helped to deal with the 'little problems' that have begun to massacre the residents. But as events take a more sinister turn, Brian wonders about the true reason they are there.... ??
Blood and carnage. Pain and suffering. Desire and sweet chaos. ??Welcome to Samhane.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780982496985
Publisher: Stygian Publications, LLC
Publication date: 12/28/2010
Pages: 314
Product dimensions: 9.02(w) x 6.00(h) x 0.70(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Samhane 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
SenoraG163 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book. Grabbed me at the start and never let go. Dark, gruesome , kept me at the edge of my seat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A ghost train of extreme horror and action. Fans of Masterton and Laymon should get a kick out of this gory treat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The-Gordon-Composition More than 1 year ago
"Samhane" (Stygian Publishing, December 2010) is a wild ride through the landscape of gothic gore. Living and writing in a land down under, Daniel I. Russell has delivered up a bloodstained gothic action thriller with a Mad Max pace. This is the story of two men with an axe to grind in the English town of Samhane: Donald is looking for his fiancé who's been kidnapped by a sadistic killer and taken there to lure Donald in as well; the other is Brian and his ten-year-old son, Sam, who've been solicited by the mayor to exterminate some rather nasty monsters that have popped up in the township. What neither realizes is that Samhane is the demonic hub of The Order, an underworld, monster-producing cult lead by the story's villain, Mr. Belvedere. When they finally do come to understand what's behind the evil of Samhane, blood gets spilled-not to mention a great deal of organ meat, brain matter, muscle tissue, stomach contents-well, you get the picture. Be warned, however: this is not a novel for your high schooler's book report, unless you want him permanently expelled that is. Russell has no problem mixing explicit erotic sex with ultra-violent gore. Like a literary psychopath, he never backs off the horror for a second, choosing instead to focus in close during the rape, torture, and dismemberments of his minor characters. Speaking of which, the characters may seem a little shallow in this novel, but you can't move along the highway to hell at an AC/DC pace without the characters shedding a little weight along the way. But that's not to say the story itself is entirely superficial. The word Samhane denotes a festival celebrated by neopagans, and a festival of neopaganism in this novel stands as a central symbol for the worship of God in a way that is different from that of traditional religions. The selection of the title, therefore, in my view, is a clue to the reader that just as the followers of The Order in the book worship Zandathru, the God of Chaos (making order from chaos being inherently hypocritical), so too, traditional religions have an inherent contradiction that makes them inevitably hypocritical, themselves. Ultimately, The Order in Samhane produces monsters just as traditional religions often produce monstrous people. But don't let such academics distract you. If you like your eroticism served up in an unhealthy helping of gore and violence, the 304 pages of this book will be a real treat. Personally, I wanted to vomit more than once while reading Samhane-and for all the right reasons. It gets to you on a gut level. The chapters are short and end with suspenseful cliffhangers, the dialog is plentiful, and the descriptions highly effective. I would like to have seen this book published as a mass-market paperback rather than in its 6 X 9 format, and I would've like to read it in a Kindle edition which is currently unavailable. Also, at $14.95, the publisher might be missing the price point for maximum sales. But even so, if you want a decent fast-paced horror story, it's worth picking up a copy. The pages just about turn themselves!
Tess_L More than 1 year ago
I don't get much time for reading these days, so when I do get time, I just hope that the book I choose is going to be a damn good read. Thankfully, this one was. I love my horror, and I love it when I can find a 'horror' novel that has the 'true horror' feel to it. A horror novel should create a feeling of revulsion and terror. This novel does just that. Instills both repulsion, and fear. You have Donald, a horror writer, who purchases a laptop to do his writing on, from a guy on ebay. Next thing he knows, he's chasing the guy down to save his fiancees life. Will he find them in time? Brian and Sam are traveling around killing monsters, when they find their path has lead them to a sleepy little town in England, Samhane. What will they find there that almost costs them their lives? Will they both make it out alive? Seriously, it's worth reading. Russell loves his gore, and Samhane doesn't fall short of gore. If you enjoy Laymon, Hutson and Keene, you'll enjoy Russell as well. He has a great talent for telling an action packed, fast paced story that will keep you on the edge of your seat right to the very end. Definitely looking forward to seeing more by this author.