Sarasate: Boléro; Sérénade Andalouse; Introduction et fandango; Prière et berceuse; Airs écossais

Sarasate: Boléro; Sérénade Andalouse; Introduction et fandango; Prière et berceuse; Airs écossais

by Tianwa Yang


$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Sarasate: Boléro; Sérénade Andalouse; Introduction et fandango; Prière et berceuse; Airs écossais

Tianwa Yang, a Chinese prodigy who tossed off the Paganini "Caprices" at the age of 13, has done well to focus on the compositions of 19th-century Spanish virtuoso Pablo Sarasate instead of delivering yet another Mendelssohn or Tchaikovsky concerto. A veteran in her early twenties, she shows no sign of burning out, treating the listener to both technical mastery and melodic flair in works that are in many cases little known. The present album, the third in her series of Sarasate works for violin and piano, lacks for nothing in the technical display department. Hear the insanely high notes and varied bird effects in "Los pájaros de Chile" (The Birds of Chile), a work only recently unearthed and published, where Yang shows no signs of strain. There are harmonics, double and triple stops, and crowd-pleasing leaps galore. But she excels equally in works that do not rely merely (or exclusively) on display. The "Rêverie, Op. 4" (track 6), is the sort of work that can draw unconvincing by-the-note performances from young violinists who don't get the necessity of having fun with it. It's an operatic aria without words, requiring not only cantabile but also uninhibited utterances from the player, and Yang's performance is utterly engaging. The hushed performance of "Le sommeil, Op. 11," is another highlight, and she has all the rhythmic verve that could be desired in the various Spanish dances with which Sarasate filled out his programs. The program is well built, with two large showpieces, the "Introduction et Fandango, Op. 40," and "Fantaisie-Caprice" (which breaks down into astonishing fully bowed figuration) in the center, surrounded by lighter works. It will be interesting to see where Yang goes after the conclusion of her Sarasate project, which is worthwhile in itself; she's plainly one of the most talented young violinists on the scene.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/27/2012
Label: Naxos
UPC: 0747313089376
catalogNumber: 8570893
Rank: 149276


  1. Les Adieux, for violin & piano, Op. 9
  2. Los pájaros de Chile, for violin & piano
  3. Airs Écossais, for violin & orchestra, Op. 34
  4. Caprice on Gounod's "Mireille," for violin & piano, Op. 6
  5. Romance sans paroles, for violin & piano ("Confidences"), Op. 7
  6. Priére et Berceuse (Oración y Nana), for violin & piano, Op. 17
  7. Fantaisie-Caprice, for violin & piano
  8. Introduction et Fandango varié, for violin & piano, Op. 40
  9. Rêverie (Ensoñación), for violin & piano, Op. 4
  10. Le sommeil, for violin & piano, Op. 11
  11. Zortizico Adiós montañas mias, for violin & piano, Op. 37
  12. Sérénade Andalouse, for violin & piano, Op. 10
  13. Zortzico de Iparaguirre, for violin & piano, Op. 39
  14. Bolero, for violin & piano, Op. 30

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews