Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Sardinian Stories

Sardinian Stories

Sardinian Stories

Sardinian Stories


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 29


Nobel Laureate, Grazia Deledda, published Racconti sardi (Sardinian Stories) in 1894. This book represented some of her earliest work in fiction and the reader will witness a prodigious writing talent. This collection consisted of eight stories which described the culture, daily life, history, flora & fauna, geography, pastoral environment, and social interactions on the island of Sardinia:


The Magician

Magic Again

Minimum Romance

The White Lady

In The Sheepfold

The Father

Little Specks

The Italian to English translation was completed by Steve Amoia. It was his first published literary translation at Barnes & Noble Press.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9798765583609
Publisher: Barnes & Noble Press
Publication date: 06/21/2022
Pages: 108
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.26(d)

About the Author

Grazia Maria Cosima Damiana Deledda (1871-1936) was born and raised in the small northeastern Sardinian town of Nuoro. At the age of 13, Deledda had her first short story published by a fashion magazine. The first of what would become many novels, Fior di Sardegna (Flower of Sardinia), was published in 1892 by a Roman publisher. (1)

Deledda resided in Sardinia until her marriage to Palmiro Madesani in 1900. Then she and her husband moved to Rome where the writer would reside and work for the rest of her life. The couple had two children: Sardus and Francesco, respectively.

A prolific author who produced approximately a book each year during her long writing career, Deledda was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature of 1926. Deledda was the first Italian woman to receive this notable achievement and only the second female (Selma Lagerlöf was the first in 1909) to become a Nobel laureate in literature.

Some of Her Most Acclaimed Works

Cenere (Ashes) in 1904.
Cosima was published posthumously in 1937.
Canne al vento (Reeds in the Wind) in 1913.
Chiaroscuro (Light and Dark) in 1912.
Dopo il divorzio (After the Divorce) in 1902.
Elias Portolú in 1903.
Fior di Sardegna (Flower of Sardinia) in 1892.
Il cedro di Libano (The Cedar of Lebanon) was published posthumously in 1939.
L’edera (The Ivy) in 1908.

(1) Nobel Lectures, Literature 1901-1967, Editor Horst Franz. Elsevier Publishing Co., Amsterdam, 1969.

Steve Amoia is an Italian-American freelance writer and translator based in Washington, D.C. His writing career began as a technical writer for a software company. Amoia’s focal areas have been career-related themes, Chinese martial arts, historical figures, and international soccer journalism, respectively.

This book is Amoia’s first published literary translation. Amoia also contributed translations to Calcio’s Greatest Forwards by George Rinaldi (Pitch Publishing Ltd., 2015) and Historical Finals of the Azzurri (Barnes & Noble Press, 2022). To learn more, please visit his portfolio site:

Customer Reviews