Scags at 30

Scags at 30

by Deborah Emin

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.49 $6.99 Save 7% Current price is $6.49, Original price is $6.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Scags at 30 by Deborah Emin

“You stood with a sandwich and a glass of water for me and waited for me to take it from you and to answer that question: What was I looking for?”

So continues the thrird part of the revolutionary Scags Series, which spans a woman's life from age 7 to 45, organized around the seasons of a year.

In Scags at 30, Scags is living in NYC during the winter of 1981 when Reagan is both inaugurated and an attempted assassination takes place but also when John Lennon is killed, the town is facing bankruptcy and the AIDS epidemic is just beginning to appear in the city. Scags' newest love, Margaret, a former nun involved in anti-nuclear actions, causes her to be arrested. Within that context of loving a powerfully engaging woman, working at a think tank that focuses on the media’s power over contemporary views, and aligning herself with both a group of artist squatters and a literary group of powerful NYC intellectuals, Scags feels the full brunt of misogyny and homophobia.

In a series of letters to her former lover, Lauren, she tries to understand, through the writing, what her new life in the city is all about.

“There is a bell tolling inside me. It never stops. I feel it all the time, and I am now thrown off-balance by it. It seems ominous, telling me that I may not be where I should be.”

The Scags Series
Volume One: Scags at 7
Volume Two: Scags at 18
Volume 3: Scags at 30
Volume 4: Scags at 45

Scags at 30 has been listed as one of the best Christian LGBTQ Books of 2016 by the QSpirit.

" I know the streets she walks and the places she goes. All of that contributed to my enjoyment of this well-written latest segment of the Scags saga." - Julia, Goodreads

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780996349116
Publisher: Sullivan Street Press
Publication date: 10/18/2016
Series: Scags Series , #3
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 166
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Deborah Emin is the author of the Scags Series, a 4-part exploration of the many ways over a woman’s lifetime that she awakens to who she is and how she is meant to live her life. Told in four different first-person voices, Scags grows from childhood to young adult to adult and then to a not-yet-finished person but one who knows that the quest to understand and find meaningful activity never ends.

Reviewers have praised the Scags series as "clever,""lyrical" and "moving" with the "uncanny ability to capture the voice of a seven year old girl".

Deborah has had poems and short stories published in a number of literary journals and was a reporter for Gay City News, OpEd News and has had numerous stories published on, Huffingon Post, Mondoweiss, Thrive and other papers and online zines where her brand of political and literary synthesis has been welcomed.

Keep up with Deborah on Facebook @deborahemin, Twitter @deminlit, or visit her blog at, and follow her annual road trip: she would love to meet up with you at a bookstore.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews