Scarlatti: 18 Sonatas

Scarlatti: 18 Sonatas

by Yevgeny Sudbin
5.0 1

SACD(Super Audio CD - SACD Hybrid)

$20.93 $21.99 Save 5% Current price is $20.93, Original price is $21.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, July 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Scarlatti: 18 Sonatas

The pianist Yevgeny Sudbin here returns to the music of Domenico Scarlatti, ten years after his first Scarlatti recording in 2005 (which was also his first recording for Sweden's BIS label). Once again he offers heavily pianistic re-imaginations of the music, akin to the approach pioneered by the pianist who first popularized these sonatas, Vladimir Horowitz. There is little concession to the sound the music would have had if it were played on a harpsichord, and in fact, here in his booklet notes, which are just about worth the price of admission by themselves, Sudbin even likens playing the sonatas on the piano to the act of transcribing them. Indeed, the capabilities of one instrument are substituted for those of another. The slow minor-key sonatas, with their tempo rubato and their pedal usage, are in a Chopin mode, and Sudbin takes a good deal of liberty with tempo and ornamentation in the repeats. Sample the "Keyboard Sonata in D minor, K. 213" (track 5), or any of the other minor-key sonatas for a taste. Sudbin balances these with brilliant, fast contrapuntal pieces that take the curves quickly; the relationship between harpsichord and guitar is lost, but there's no question that he's exciting to hear at high speeds and keeps everything clear. If you're in the market for extremely pianistic Scarlatti, Sudbin's unpacks the remarkable dissonances and idiosyncratic structures of the slow sonatas especially well.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2016
Label: Bis
UPC: 7318599921389
catalogNumber: 2138
Rank: 56659


  1. Sonata for keyboard in D minor, K. 32 (L. 423)
  2. Sonata for keyboard in D minor, K. 141 (L. 422)
  3. Sonata for keyboard in F sharp major, K. 318 (L. 31)
  4. Sonata for keyboard in D minor, K. 9 (L. 413), "Pastorale"
  5. Sonata for keyboard in D major, K. 479 (L. S16)
  6. Sonata for keyboard in G minor, K. 12 (L. 489)
  7. Sonata for keyboard in C minor, K. 99 (L. 317)
  8. Sonata for keyboard in D major, K. 29 (L. 461)
  9. Sonata for keyboard in G major, K. 425 (L. 333)
  10. Sonata for keyboard in F minor, K. 69 (L. 382)
  11. Sonata for keyboard in D major, K. 119 (L. 415)
  12. Sonata for keyboard in G minor, K. 373 (L. 98)
  13. Sonata for keyboard in G major, K. 125 (L. 487)
  14. Sonata for keyboard in D minor, K. 213 (L. 108) "The Lover"
  15. Sonata for keyboard in C minor, K. 56 (L. 356)
  16. Sonata for keyboard in C major, K. 159 (L. 104) "La caccia"
  17. Sonata for keyboard in A major, K. 208 (L. 238)
  18. Sonata for keyboard in D minor, K. 417 (L. 462)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Scarlatti: 18 Sonatas 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
lollidamaAC More than 1 year ago
It amazes just how much great writing Scarlatti packed into his keyboard sonatas which range anywhere from 2 ½ to 7 minutes. On average these compact gems are 3-4 minutes long. Present throughout are a wealth of thematic, harmonic, rhythmic and contrapuntal ideas. This marks Mr. Sudbin’s 2nd disc devoted to the composer. In terms of expressivity and interpretive shaping, Mr. Sudbin ranks with the best, past or present. His playing is refined and nuanced, muscular when required. In Mr. Sudbin’s very capable hands, these sonatas emerge, more than ever, as perfectly conceived poetic fancies. The superbly detailed and three dimensional recording only adds to this impression. The Super Audio version is particularly effective in conveying dynamic and coloristic subtleties. The tremendously interesting liner notes are courtesy of the pianist.