Scars on the Face of God

Scars on the Face of God

by Chris Bauer

Paperback

$14.99
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

PRAYERS SOMETIMES LAND ON THE DEVIL'S EARS.

“Scars on the Face of God is a brilliant novel. Congratulations on hitting one out of the park…” -Jonathan Maberry, NYT bestselling author and winner of multiple Bram Stoker Awards

The year is 1964. A construction project in the town of Three Bridges, Pennsylvania unearths an ancient sewer. Inside is a mystery dating to the 19th century: the hidden skeletons of countless infants.

As the secrets of Three Bridges begin to surface, an ancient codex is discovered in the attic of a local orphanage. A bible containing writings in Lucifer’s own hand.

The parish priest and a church handyman set out to discover the truth. But a series of strange visions and horrifying tragedies begin, and the darkest secret of all becomes clear:

The town of Three Bridges is marked, and the Devil is coming out to play.

For fans of Stephen King and Stranger Things.

______________________________

Praise for Chris Bauer and SCARS ON THE FACE OF GOD:

“...Bauer writes with passion and intensity, tackling the mysteries of faith and fear. Hotter than the flames of hell.” — Scott Nicholson, author of Scattered Ashes, They Hunger, The Red Church, The Harvest.

"These characters... are exquisitely drawn, fully-fleshed beings that leap from the page to engage you in the plot... The writing is pitch-perfect, from the language used to the intricate weaving of plot threads. This is a talented writer, a name I will expect to find on New York Times best-seller lists. —Kelly Jenkins, SF Crowsnest Review

_______________________________

What readers are saying:

★★★★★ "...at once beautiful and terrifying."

★★★★★ "Absolutely great book, well on par with anything Stephen King has written."

★★★★★ "...one of the best horror novels I have read in a long time. It is truly frightening."

★★★★★ "This is an excellent book. Well written, with a taut plot and well-defined likable characters."

★★★★★ "Engaging theme, brilliant story, wonderfully written and a pleasure to get lost in. What an amazing tale!"

★★★★★ "The unexpected and delightful treats are the numerous "AHA!" moments that make you think about who you are, what you are, and why you are."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781951249427
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Publication date: 09/12/2019
Pages: 328
Sales rank: 877,222
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.73(d)

About the Author

"The thing I write will be the thing I write."

Chris wouldn't trade his northeast Philly upbringing of street sports played on blacktop and concrete, fistfights, brick and stone row houses, and twelve years of well-intentioned Catholic school discipline for a Philadelphia minute (think New York minute but more fickle and less forgiving). Chris has had some lengthy stops as an adult in Michigan and Connecticut, and he thinks Pittsburgh is a great city even though some of his fictional characters do not. He still does most of his own stunts, and he once passed for Chip Douglas of My Three Sons TV fame on a Wildwood, NJ boardwalk. He's a member of International Thriller Writers, and his work has been recognized by the National Writers Association, the Writers Room of Bucks County (PA), and the Maryland Writers Association. He likes the pie more than the turkey.

Customer Reviews