Schubert: Complete Songs, Vol. 16

Schubert: Complete Songs, Vol. 16

by Thomas Allen


1 New & Used Starting at $20.58


First the good news: the music is by Schubert, the lyrics are by Schiller, the singing is by Thomas Allan, and the accompaniment is by Graham Johnson. Now the bad news: there are not one but two interminable and almost unlistenable ballades included in this program of otherwise wonderful songs. So while most of the songs in this volume of Johnson's Schubert edition are magnificent fusions of words and music -- songs with the longing of "Laura am Klavier (D. 388)" or the sweetness of "Der Jüngling am Bache (D. 638)," or the joy of "An di Freude (D. 189)," or the unappeasable yearning of "Sehnsucht (D. 52)" -- and while most of the performances are powerfully and passionately sung by the still superb Allan and just about perfectly accompanied by the always superb Johnson, there are still the two ballades, the 20 minutes of gothic gloom in "Eine Leichenphantasie (D. 7)" and the 16 minutes of medieval flapdoodle in "Die Bürgschaft (D. 246)." But while between them they account for nearly half the playing time of the disc, they are still as well performed as is imaginable as is the rest of the really good music on the disc, resulting in a disc still up to the high standards of the Schubert edition. And besides, any disc with a 42-page program book as well-written and entertaining as this is automatically worth getting.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/04/1993
Label: Hyperion Uk
UPC: 0034571130163
catalogNumber: 33016


  1. Eine Leichenphantasie ("Mit erstorbnem Scheinen"), song for voice & piano, D. 7
  2. Laura am Klavier ("Wenn dein Finger..."), song for voice & piano (two versions), D. 388
  3. Die Entzückung an Laura I ("Laura, über diese Welt"), song for voice & piano, D. 390
  4. Die Entzückung an Laura II ("Laura, Laura, über diese Welt"), song for voice & piano (fragment), D. 577
  5. An die Freude ("Freude, schöner Götterfunken"), song for voice & piano, D. 189 (Op. posth. 111/1)
  6. An Emma ("Weit in nebelgrauer ferne"), song for voice & piano, D. 113 (Op. 58/2)
  7. Das Mädchen aus der Fremde I ("In einem Tal bei armen Hirten"), song for voice & piano, D. 117
  8. Das Geheimnis II ("Sie konnte mir"), song for voice & piano, D. 793 (Op. posth. 173/2)
  9. Die Bürgschaft ("Zu Dionys"), song for voice & piano, D. 246
  10. Der Jüngling am Bache III ("An der Quelle sass der Knabe"), song for voice & piano, D. 638 (Op. 87/3)
  11. Die vier Weltalter ("Wohl perlet im Glase"), song for voice & piano, D. 391 (Op. posth. 111/3)
  12. Sehnsucht ("Ach, aus dieses Tales gründen"), song for voice & piano (first version), D. 52
  13. Der Pilgrim ("Noch in meines Lebens Lenze"), song for voice & piano, D. 794 (Op. 37/1)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews