Scorchers from the Mighty Two

Scorchers from the Mighty Two

by Joe Gibbs


$21.06 $21.99 Save 4% Current price is $21.06, Original price is $21.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Scorchers from the Mighty Two

Joe Gibbs is easily one of the most influential producers in reggae history, and this large-scale compilation, released soon after his 2008 death, gives evidence as to how Gibbs became so big. After failed relationships with Lee "Scratch" Perry and Niney Holmes as sound engineers, Gibbs came upon Errol Thompson (originally from Coxsone Dodd's Studio One) and together their sound became that of "the Mighty Two." For a few years the pairing produced some of the premier examples of rocksteady, lovers rock, and roots reggae, among other subgenres. This anthology provides examples of lovers rock masters Dennis Brown and Gregory Isaacs, the London sound of Black Uhuru in an early form, the great Barrington Levy, an early version of Eek-a-Mouse, and plenty more. There are crooners, singers, rastas, and toasters here, all providing classic cuts. The real key period covered by this anthology predates that of the more modern dancehall crazes, so the energy may seem a bit low to some newer reggae fans. However, the foundation for essentially all reggae that followed came directly from only a couple of really large sources -- Studio One and this duo, the Mighty Two. An excellent overview for the reggae sounds of the late '70s and early '80s.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/03/2008
Label: Vp Records
UPC: 0054645413022
catalogNumber: 4130
Rank: 193536

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joe Gibbs   Primary Artist
Winston Bope Bowne   Guitar
Harold Butler   Keyboards
Tony Chin   Guitar
Carlton "Santa" Davis   Drums
Santa Davis   Drums
Sly Dunbar   Drums
Bobby Ellis   Trumpet
George Fullwood   Bass,Bass Guitar
Vin Gordon   Trombone
Lennox Gordon   Guitar
Ossie Hibbert   Keyboards
Herman Marquis   Alto Saxophone
Tommy McCook   Tenor Saxophone
Lloyd Parks   Bass,Bass Guitar
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass,Bass Guitar
Ruddy Thomas   Percussion
Franklyn Waul   Keyboards
Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace   Drums
Errol "Tarzan" Nelson   Keyboards
Winston "Bo Peep" Bowen   Guitar
Eric "Bingy Bunny" Lamont   Guitar
Sticky Thomas   Percussion

Technical Credits

Eek-A-Mouse   Composer
Sammy Dread   Composer
Joe Gibbs   Producer
Errol Thompson   Producer
Christopher Chin   Executive Producer
A. Griffiths   Composer
Daddy Lion Chandell   Liner Notes
Jerry Neville   Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews