by Protest the Hero


$13.49 $13.99 Save 4% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $13.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, August 23 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.



Canadian progressive/post-hardcore/punk/thrash metal outfit Protest the Hero's third studio album ditched the keyboards and strings that peppered 2008's critically acclaimed Fortress. Stripped down, punishing, and more aloof than the two previous albums, the lack of any unifying theme makes Scurrilous a less inclusive outing, though the quintet's penchant for crafting impossibly precise breakdowns, staccato leads, and unpredictable melodies is far from diminished. This shift from fantasy to the personal feels right for a band whose members are hitting their mid-twenties, and vocalist/lyricist Rody Walker, freed from any kind of conceptual framework, offers up some gems here, touching on everything from cancer ("Tandem") and mental illness ("Tongue Splitter") to cigarette addiction ("Hair-Trigger") and life on the road ("Moonlight"), but it's Scurrilous' divisive closing track that feels the most evolved. "Sex Tapes," a fiery and ferocious cautionary tale of sex in the digital age, that manages to work in both the Jonas Brothers and a melody cribbed from Sergei Rachmaninoff, skillfully walks the line between emo parody and powerful social commentary, and while it may not be what fans looking for more Coheed and Cambria-meets-Iron Maiden mysticism were expecting (there is still some of that, specifically on the excellent "Termites"), like the rest of Scurrilous, it's hard to argue with its execution and conviction.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/22/2011
Label: Vagrant Records
UPC: 0601091065925
catalogNumber: 659
Rank: 84021

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Protest the Hero   Primary Artist
Julius "The Juice" Butty   Vocals
Chris Hannah   Vocals
Rody Walker   Group Member
Tim Millar   Keyboards,Group Member
Luke Hoskin   Vocals,Group Member
Moe Carlson   Group Member
Arif Mirabdolbaghi   Group Member
Jadea Kelly   Vocals
Porter Hoskin   Vocals

Technical Credits

Sergey Rachmaninov   Inspiration
Nick Blagona   Engineer
Larry Mazer   Management
Ben Goetting   Layout
Andy Mack   Guitar Techician
Julius "The Juice" Butty   Producer,Engineer
Protest the Hero   Composer
Rody Walker   Composer
Arif Mirabdolbaghi   Composer
Josh Kline   Booking
Marco Walzel   Booking
Jeff Zurba   Drum Technician
Greg Pavlica   Guitar Techician
Jafar Petgar   Artwork
Colin Lewis   Booking

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews