The Sea and the Silence

The Sea and the Silence

by Peter Cunningham


$7.50 View All Available Formats & Editions

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781934848326
Publisher: GemmaMedia
Publication date: 02/26/2010
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Peter Cunningham grew up in Waterford, the city on which Monument, the town in The Sea and the Silence, is based. His previous work includes a number of thrillers, written both under his own name and under pseudonyms. His novels include Who Trespass Against Us (London, 1993); The Monument Trilogy: Tapes of the River Delta (London, 1995); Consequences of the Heart (London, 1998); and Love in One Edition (London, 2001); and Taoiseach (London, 2004).

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sea and the Silence 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
vlcraven on LibraryThing 21 days ago
A luminous tale of a marriage that isn't always perfect. Dividing into two parts, the end of the relationship precedes the beginning, giving the novel a pathos it wouldn't have if written in chronological order. Cunningham has a rare gift for language, descriptions of the sea stand out particularly. His descriptions are so vibrant the reader can feel the emotional texture of the lives of his characters. Perfect for fans of John McGahern.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago