Seasons of Change

Seasons of Change

by Elizabeth Johns

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940149851140
Publisher: Elizabeth Johns
Publication date: 12/19/2014
Series: Loring-Abbott Series , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 209
Sales rank: 706,397
File size: 403 KB

About the Author

Bestselling author Elizabeth Johns was first an avid reader, though she was a reluctant convert. It was Jane Austen's clever wit and unique turn of phrase that hooked Johns when she was "forced" to read Pride and Prejudice for a school assignment. She began writing when she ran out of her favorite author’s books and decided to try her hand at crafting a Regency romance novel. Her journey into publishing began with the release of Surrender the Past, book one of the Loring-Abbott Series. Johns makes no pretensions to Austen’s wit but hopes readers will perhaps laugh and find some enjoyment in her writing.
Johns attributes much of her inspiration to her mother, a retired English teacher. During their last summer together, Johns would sit on the porch swing and read her stories to her mother, who encouraged her to continue writing. Busy with multiple careers, including a professional job in the medical field, author and mother of small children, Johns squeezes in time for reading whenever possible.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Seasons of Change 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's amazing, first reading Surrender the Past and seeing how hateful Beatrice was, it's amazing the speed at which one becomes attached to Beatrice. How convincingly events transpire and how logically and admirably she transforms into a sympathetic, caring individual. I found her more appealing towards the middle than I had even found Elinor. I anticipate a similar experience with Lady Lydia in the next book.
Lynda-Flanagan1 More than 1 year ago
Seasons of Change is Bea's story.  We are introduced to Bea in book one when she is jealous and vindictive.  In Season's of Change we see Bea's journey as she becomes a new woman and learns the true values of life. After trying to ruin her cousin's reputation,  Bea's father agrees with Lord Vernon to send her to Scotland where she can help at his orphanage.  Lord Rhys Vernon has loved Bea since they were children.  He hoped to get her attention through jealousy and lavished attention on her cousin Elinor.  His heart breaks when she chooses exile over a life with him. Bea is mortified when she learns the truth about Elinor.  She cannot look at Rhys when he comes to say goodbye.  Her only hope is if she behaves well, she can soon return home from  . . . .wherever it is she is banished to. I love Bea!   She grows up so well and she just won't run home with her tail between her legs.  She has a lot of deeper issues regarding her jealousy of Elinor.  Being constantly compared to her from a young age and then seeing her beloved Rhys flirting her was very tough.  However,  at the orphanage she finds her feet, makes friends and developed a healthy dose of self respect. Definitely recommended read! ***I was given this book in exchange for an honest review***
Tinalou70 More than 1 year ago
The continuing saga of the Loring/Abbott family is a beautiful tale of change, self-discovery, redemption and forgiveness. Beatrice is the conniving and spoiled daughter of a Duke but she wasn't always. Rhys is the man who has loved her since she was 9 yrs old and he a precocious teen. Betrothed as children, they never thought or wanted to be with another. Once they reach adulthood, Rhys has a change of heart because Beatrice has grown into a young woman he doesn't not recognize much less want to marry. Letting her jealousy consume her, Beatrice unleashes vengeance upon her much loved and adored cousin shocking her family and Rhys, Sent into exile for her atrocious behavior, Beatrice has lost everything she once held dear including the man she loves but knows the punishment is well deserved. Instead of wallowing, she strives to change her views, values and herself. Rhys tries to move on but finds it difficult to forget the woman he has loved for most of his life. Is there a second change for them or will another steal their hearts? I loved this story even more than the first in the series, Surrender the Past. If you are looking for a wonderful series of romance, please do not hesitate to add both of these to your collection. I was so consumed by both stories that I didn't even notice there was no sex until I'd finished reading, lol. Well done, Elizabeth! I can't wait for the next installment :)
Jutzie More than 1 year ago
Season of Change by Elizabeth Johns Loring-Abbott Series Book Two Rhys Godfrey, Earl of Vernon had known since a young man that he would one day marry Lady Beatrice. Their fathers had arranged the marriage but he was happy about it. Now, eleven years later, that girl he fell in love with has become a bit of a shrew and circumstances quickly turn his life upside down. He has no choice but to let her go and settle for a marriage of convenience, he is an earl after all and will need that coveted heir. Lady Beatrice allowed jealousy to take over any good sense she might have had left. It was the final straw, it seems, for her father’s patience. Bea finds herself going from a privileged life of a duke’s daughter to a mere servant in Scotland. No longer the future bride of Rhys. She was surprised to find that hurt more than giving up her lifestyle. Revenge doesn’t usually end well, as Bea found out. In book one, Surrender the Past, and this story, I found the characters came alive. Bea is definitely not the person she seemed to be and is quickly redeemed as you get to know her. Looking forward to more books on the other characters.