Second Firsts: A Step-by-Step Guide to Life after Loss

Second Firsts: A Step-by-Step Guide to Life after Loss

by Christina Rasmussen
Second Firsts: A Step-by-Step Guide to Life after Loss

Second Firsts: A Step-by-Step Guide to Life after Loss

by Christina Rasmussen


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 7
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


A widowed therapist explores grief, loss, and our innate resilience, drawing on neuroscience and personal experience to lead the bereaved through the five stages of healing

After studying to become a therapist and crisis intervention counselor—even doing her master’s thesis on the stages of bereavement—Christina Rasmussen thought she understood grief. But it wasn’t until losing her husband to cancer in her early 30s that she truly grasped the depths of sorrow and pain that accompany loss. Using the knowledge she gained while wading through her own grief and reading hundreds of neuroscience books, Rasmussen began to look at experiences in a new way. She realized that grief plunges you into a gap between worlds—the world before loss and the world after loss. She also realized how easy it is to become lost in this gap.

In Second Firsts, Rasmussen walks you through her Life Reentry process to help you break grief’s spiral of pain, so you can stop simply surviving and begin to live again. She shows you that loss can actually be a powerful catalyst to creating a life that is in alignment with your true passions and values. The resilience, strength, and determination that have gotten you through this difficult time are the same characteristics that will help you craft your wonderful new life. Her method, which she has used successfully with thousands of clients, is based on the science of neuroplasticity and focuses on consciously releasing pain in ways that both honor suffering and rewire the brain to change your perception of the world and yourself.

Using practical exercises and stories drawn from her own life and those of her clients, Rasmussen guides you through five stages of healing that help you open up to new possibilities. From acknowledging your fear, to recognizing where you stand now, to taking active steps toward a new life, Rasmussen helps you move past the pain and shows that it’s never too late to step out of the gap and experience life again—as if for the first time.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781401957063
Publisher: Hay House Inc.
Publication date: 05/21/2019
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 657,085
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Christina Rasmussen is a coach, crisis-intervention specialist, and speaker on a crusade to change the way we live after loss. As the founder of Second Firsts, an organization to help people create a pathway back to life after loss, Christina has helped thousands of people rebuild, reclaim, and relaunch their lives using the power of the human mind.

Table of Contents

Preface xv

A Message to the Reader xix

Introduction xxi

Chapter 1 My Second Firsts 1

Chapter 2 The Science of Getting Past Grief 19

Chapter 3 Life Reentry Stage 1: Get Real 41

Chapter 4 Life Reentry Stage 2: Plug In 73

Chapter 5 Life Reentry Stage 3; Shift 105

Chapter 6 Life Reentry Stage 4: Discover 133

Chapter 7 Life Reentry Stage 5: Reenter Life 157

Conclusion: Welcome Back! 181

Resources 187

Recommended Reading 189

Notes 193

Acknowledgments 195

About the Author 199

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews