The Second Opinion

The Second Opinion

by Michael Palmer
4.0 52

Hardcover(First Edition)

$23.74 $25.95 Save 9% Current price is $23.74, Original price is $25.95. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Second Opinion 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
LittletommyD More than 1 year ago
In prior Palmer medical themed stories, the characters in key roles were normal, but this story differed in that he created a heroine out of an afflicted characteer and played the story to the affliction. It kept you guessing, deep thinking, and on the brink as the plot developed around the central character. The key figures were believable and credible in their roles. For his genre, Palmer is a master of the story. As with all Michael Palmer books, I would highly recommend this one to the serious mystery fan.
harstan More than 1 year ago
When American Dr. Thea Sperelakis learns her imposing father, renowned Boston physician Petros is dying, a hit and run victim, she rushes home from the Congo where she works for Doctors Without Borders. At home Thea is stunned to find the mighty ¿Lion¿, as her dad is known, look so feeble and helpless.

Her brother Dimitri creates a computer simulation of the accident that appears to support the unthinkable premise that the driver tried to purposely murder Petros. Thea struggles to learn why as no motive comes to mind until she obtains some information from her dad. Although still containing monster gaps in what she knows, Thea believes her father is a victim of a professional hit that she thinks is tied to medical fraud Petros must have uncovered at the hospital where he was working.

THE SECOND OPINION is a well written solid medical thriller though the story line cooks up nothing new even for Michale Palmer fans. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Thea returns to Massachusetts as she obstinatley seeks the truth although she knows first hand how dangerous that is.

Harriet Klausner
Lollypop99 More than 1 year ago
I had never read a Michael Palmer book before and enjoyed this so much that I actually set it aside from the rest of my books, already read. In the back of his book under Author's Note, he actually has a section that gives you brief answers about Aspergers, I read them, and almost fell out of my seat. I wear sunglasses to hockey game and baseball games, when others ask me "why?" I have always told them that bright lights distract me and give me migraines. When at restaurants, I hear conversations from 10 tables away and even hear the cooks talking. I smell odors that no one else notices. I immediately went to my doctor after finishing the book and he disagnosed me with Asperger's Syndrome. Aside from that, the book is truly worth reading, well-written, easy to understand and you may be surprised. It might sound a lot like you!
JayneAustenHealey More than 1 year ago
Michael Palmer has always been a good writer and I have enjoyed each one of his efforts but in the time since First Patient, he has matured and aged as a fine wine. Perhaps it is his interest in Asbergers Syndrome or another change in his life but I get a feel from his work that I never got before. The protagonist is a female and I often find that writers have a difficult time creating good opposite sex character development but his Thea is very layered and real. Readers will not only feel the complexity of her disability but know her uncertainties as a woman. It is often easy to identify the antagonist early in a writing but Second Opinion leaves the reader guessing not only about who that is but who might be the ultimate target. I was disappointed when my eyes cried out for sleep and I still had half the novel to read. Bringing a syndrome to light like Asbergers is a tremendous service and will offer the readers an opportunity to understand these unique individuals in a compassionate and respective view. The space of medical thrillers, when used for greater public understanding, is a wonderfully responsible action for the writer. Congratulations on a really superior piece of work!
Prasvadh More than 1 year ago
Michael Palmer has yet again written a wonderful plot that keeps its readers engrossed till the very last page of the novel. Absolute vividness of description is involved here in suggesting the people's behavior having Asperger's syndrome & the author has very well kept the reader's attention to the top level till the end.
Swatstocker More than 1 year ago
Michael Palmer is a premier writer and his medical novels always have both a strong plot and consistent twists and turns. Seldom is there not one or more medical diagnoses or crises that give me reason to read further in the subject.
CGA More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent medical mystery by Michael Palmer! I especially loved the main character, Dr. Thea Sperelakis, and her inner dialogue about the actual and potential influences of Asperger's on her behavior. The plot started slowly, but once I was into it I really enjoyed the book. I know this isn't his custom, but I'd love to see Thea again in another of Dr. Palmer's novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The mix of autism & medical mystery kept me turning pages. Would recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept my interest start to finish
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago