Secrets of Southern Girls: A Novel

Secrets of Southern Girls: A Novel

by Haley Harrigan

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Secrets of Southern Girls: A Novel by Haley Harrigan

"Harrigan's novel, part mystery and part coming-of-age, explores the process of healing from tragedies and misunderstandings."—Publishers Weekly

A tender, yet thrilling suspense novel about a young woman who uncovers devastating secrets that will resurrect the people she lost and the lies she buried — perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain and Ellen Marie Wiseman

Ten years ago, Julie Portland accidentally killed her best friend, Reba. What's worse is she got away with it. Consumed by guilt, she left the small town of Lawrence Mill, Mississippi, and swore nothing would ever drag her back. Now, raising her daughter and struggling to make ends meet in Manhattan, Julie still can't forget the ghost of a girl with golden hair and a dangerous secret.

When August, Reba's first love, begs Julie to come home to find the diary that Reba kept all those years ago, Julie's past comes creeping back to haunt her. That diary could expose the shameful memories Julie has been running from, but it could also unearth the hidden truths that Reba left buried...and reveal that Julie isn't the only one who feels responsible for Reba's death.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492647553
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 06/06/2017
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 546,107
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.30(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Secrets of Southern Girls: A Novel 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Good book
Anonymous 4 months ago
Not a 4 star read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading the sample of this book I knew the story would be an interesting one and it was! I was unable to put this book down once I was "sucked in". I am adding this author to my list of favorites so I don't miss her next book!
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Julie may have physically moved from her hometown of Mississippi, but her mind and thoughts are still in her hometown and after someone comes to find her in New York, she travels back to confront the things of the past and maybe finally put them to rest. Let me start by saying that I loved the premise of the book and how it was laid out. Without spoiling too much, Julie thinks she killed her best friend and come to find out there is a diary that has been floating around from this best friend that may have some answers in it. So while you are reading the adventures of Julie and August as they travel back to Mississippi, the reader is also getting tid bits from Reba's diary to set up the events before her death. I love getting this information and I loved the moment it intersected with the story - it was just at the right moment.
mkdmom More than 1 year ago
I was given an ARC of this book for an honest review from Netgalley. I found this book to be a fast read, perfect for the beach. The story of two friends, one who harbored big secrets from another, was intriguing. Unfortunately I didn't really care for the main characters of this book though. While I found Reba's story to be interesting, I felt that we never received any information to explain why she took the actions she did. Although that may have been the author's intent because the character was a teenager and didn't really know herself at all. I found Jules to be a bit of a narcissist although by the end of the story, I felt she had changed her ways.
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Julie tells herself it’s not your fault she is dead. She had told herself this same thing for ten years. But it’s a lie and Julie knows it. Julie had just been in a scene in a workshop for actors and screenwriters that had hit close to home. Julia is a tour guide on a bus in NYC. Julie has a daughter named Rebecca/Beck. Evan is Beck’s father who is an actor. Is in a private kindergarten paid for by her father. Julia feels Beck is poised and smart even at her young age. Julie’s best friend was Brighton. How long had Julie told herself acting would change her life. No more part time jobs ? Julie also teaches Yoga classes . Brighton is the only one of Julie’s college friends who chose her over her ex husband -Evan- after their divorce. Brighton used to be an actor but was a double major in college and had degrees in both drama and finance. He really seems to like the financial job he chose. Julia is thinking of Ruby again as she does most every day. Julia is with Brighton at a jazz club where Brighton’s boyfriend is in the band. Julie realizes that August is at the bar. This is the third time August has found her although he would have no way of knowing it. The most recent contact was the letter from six months ago. The email was the first attempt to contact Julie three months before the letter, Julie and August finally meet up and he asks for Ruby’s diary. Julie hadn’t even known Ruby kept a diary and then August convinces Julie to go back to Mississippi to see if they can find the diary. I liked the story but I did get a little confused at times. It dragged some at times for me also. But I did enjoy reading the pages of Ruby’s diary. I like the plot and couldn’t wait to find out what really happened to Ruby. It did keep my attention all the way through the book. I liked the characters a lot and the ins and outs of this story and I recommend.
brf1948 More than 1 year ago
I received a free electronic copy of this novel from Netgalley, Haley Harrigan, and Sourcebooks Landmark in exchange for an honest review. Thank you all, for sharing your hard work with me. This is a quick read, taking us all back to simpler days, to the angst of first love and small southern Mississippi town 'normal'. Julie and Reba, however, didn't do anything either simple or normal, and that is what gives this tale it's juice.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
This was a slow moving read that told the story of Reba and her death while still a teenager. Julie, her best friend, and August, her boyfriend at the time, find each other and set out on a mission to find the truth of what really happened to Reba. Both of these characters think that they have something to do with the demise of Reba, a girl they both loved very much. When the final moments of Reba's life are brought to light, the results will both shock you and disgust you. As I said, a slow moving read, but, for me, was still entertaining. Huge thanks to Sourcebooks Landmark and Net Galley for the free e-galley for me to give my honest, unbiased opinion.
wvteddy More than 1 year ago
How would you feel if everything you had believed for 10 years that had affected your entire life was a lie? Julie and Reba lived beside each other and were best friends all through school until the night senior year that Reba died. What really happened that night? Julie thought she knew. After all, best friends share everything, don’t they? She ran away from little Lawrence Mill, Missouri to put the past behind her and make it big in New York. Ten years later, divorced with a young daughter, Julie still hasn’t hit the big time. August was Reba’s boyfriend. He always thought her death was his fault and is still mourning her. He seeks out Julie and convinces her to return to Lawrence Mill with him to try to find Reba’s diary and get some closure. They find the mill gone and everything changed. They also find Reba’s diary. Separately, they read it and find the stunning truth that nothing was as they had thought. And the truth indeed sets them free. I thoroughly enjoyed the part of the book set in Lawrence Mill describing the girls’ childhood and coming of age. It was set in 1997 but it felt very much like the idyllic 1950’s to me. The secrets in Reba’s diary were rather convoluted and kept me guessing. This wasn’t so much a deep mystery as a coming of age story about a time when life was simpler. Or was it?