See My Friends

See My Friends

by Ray Davies


$12.68 $13.99 Save 9% Current price is $12.68, Original price is $13.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


See My Friends

A tribute album starring the man of honor himself, who also curated the whole affair, See My Friends is a bit of a curious creature. Certainly, Ray Davies' influence is so pervasive he could rope in a number of heavy hitters from a number of different generations. Jackson Browne and Bruce Springsteen sign up for duets; Metallica backs the legend on a rip through "You Really Got Me," while Spoon offers suitably spacy support on "See My Friends"; Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora harmonize on a languid "Celluloid Heroes," and Black Francis comes in to sing "This Is Where I Belong," a song he covered with gusto some 16 years earlier. As it turns out, "This Is Where I Belong" provides a good indication of the energy level of See My Friends in general: the older dudes are comfortable playing with Ray while the newer dudes are respectful, delivering amiably mannered performances. It's all pleasant enough, but it's hard not to wish that more of the record had the kick of "Til The End of the Day," where the late Alex Chilton seems genuinely enthused to sing with his idol.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/05/2011
Label: Decca
UPC: 0602527529424
catalogNumber: 001531002
Rank: 68066

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ray Davies   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Jon Bon Jovi   Vocals
Jackson Browne   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Alex Chilton   Vocals
Richie Sambora   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Bruce Springsteen   Guitar,Vocals
Lucinda Williams   Vocals
Paul Shaffer   Organ,Piano,Harmonium,Background Vocals
Billy Corgan   Guitar,Vocals
Anton Fig   Drums
Black Francis   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Ian Gibbons   Piano,Keyboards
Kirk Hammett   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals
James Hetfield   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Will Lee   Bass,Background Vocals
Sid McGinnis   Guitar
Dick Nolan   Bass Guitar
Mark Tulin   Bass Guitar
Lars Ulrich   Drums,Background Vocals
Robert Trujillo   Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Bill Shanley   Guitar,Guitar (Baritone)
Felicia Collins   Guitar,Background Vocals,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Britt Daniel   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Jim Eno   Percussion,Drums
Gary Lightbody   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Adam Merrin   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Ben Lovett   Piano,Background Vocals
Ben Waters   Piano
Amy MacDonald   Vocals
Anthony Zimmitti   Percussion,Drums
Todd O'Keefe   Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Paloma Faith   Vocals
Seye Adelekan   Guitar
Damon Wilson   Drums
Rob Pope   Bass
Eric Harvey   Keyboards
Marcus Mumford   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Ted Dwane   Background Vocals,Double Bass
Andrea Goldsworthy   Bass
Ian Cotterill   Conga
Dominic Pipkin   Keyboards
Samuel Agard   Drums
Marshall Winston   Banjo,Background Vocals
Keith Slettendahl   Guitar,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Ray Davies   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Mike Gillies   Engineer
Chris Shaw   Engineer
Lisa Harris   grooming
Andy Savours   Engineer
Dougal Lott   Engineer
Martyn Berg   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews