Seeds of Dissent (Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches Book 2, 10th Anniversary Edition)

Seeds of Dissent (Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches Book 2, 10th Anniversary Edition)

by Robert Stanek

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940015864854
Publisher: RP Books
Publication date: 11/16/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,124,495
File size: 8 MB

About the Author

William Robert Stanek has been a writer for over 30 years. Writing as William Stanek, he's helped millions build essential job skills. Writing as Robert Stanek, he's introduced millions to new worlds and ideas. His books are available in more than 50 countries and 20 languages. Nearly a million people have read or listened to his Ruin Mist books via Barnes & Noble, Audible, Playaway, OverDrive, and more than a dozen other retail and library partners.

Though Robert Stanek's always been a writer at heart, he never set out to be a writer. What he wanted to be, he didn't know when he said goodbye to high school. What he wanted to do though, he knew that: he wanted to see the world--and so he did while serving his country in distant lands.

He wrote novels for more than ten years before he ever tried to get published. His big break came with a book about publishing--only a different sort of publishing than you may be thinking. The book was about web publishing and so his career in writing began. His books have been written about and recommended by the YA librarian staff at VOYA, Publisher's Weekly, Parenting Magazine, the Journal of Electronic Defense, The Children's Bookshelf, Children's Writer, the Wall Street Journal, Popular Series Fiction for Middle School and Teen Readers: A Reading and Selection Guide, and other fine publications and periodicals.

In his long, distinguished career, his books have been distributed and published by Simon & Schuster, Random House, Macmillan, Pearson, Microsoft, O'Reilly, and others. He was also a columnist for PC Magazine and Dr. Dobbs. After high school, he joined the military to see the world and has lived in Asia, Europe, the Pacific, and many parts of the United States. He served two combat tours in the Gulf War as a combat flyer. Learn more at,, and

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Seeds of Dissent (Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches Book 2, 10th Anniversary Edition) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
EDL85 More than 1 year ago
“Seeds of Dissent” is the second book in the Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches series, and it brings together the characters the reader meets in the first book, including Princess Adrina, the magical Vilmos, and the elf soldier Seth, as well as Keeper Martin and Father Jacob.  The story opens with the brave and determined Captain Brodst trying to lead his soldiers to a castle where the ailing Princess Adrina can rest—when they are surrounded by a mysterious mist and the road disappears, his men panic and they are losing valuable time they could be spending to reach Prince William. At the same time, Seth and his fellow elves are languishing in a brutal land, losing hope that they will finish their mission for the Queen Mother; Vilmos is receiving training from the shaman Xith; and the evil King Jarom is making political moves that will plunge the country into war.  “Seeds of Dissent” has a lot more action than “Winds of Change,” and since the characters are already established now you get to actually enjoy learning more about them and seeing them develop. Adrina proves herself a strong and determined women, able to push forward even at great personal expense; Seth also proves that his heart is true and faithful. I also really liked how the author slowly drew their disparate stories together so that all of the characters’ plotlines merged—it was well-done and exciting to see how each of their paths ended up at the same destination. The rousing battle scene at the end, in which each must use their own intelligence and skills, was exciting and a satisfying conclusion to this book in the series.  Recommended to readers who enjoy action-packed, quest driven fantasy stories in the tradition of Tolkien.