B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Seeking Peace: Chronicles of the Worst Buddhist in the World

Seeking Peace: Chronicles of the Worst Buddhist in the World

by Mary Pipher PhD


View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days


"An absorbing chronicle of discovery" (Booklist) from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Reviving Ophelia and The Shelter of Each Other

Like most lives, Mary Pipher’s is filled with glory and tragedy, chaos and clarity, love and abandonment. She spent her childhood in small Midwestern towns, the nurturing daughter of a doctor mother and a restless, jack-of-all-trades father. Later, as a wife, mother, and therapist, she was able to do what she most enjoyed: learn about the world and help others. But after the surprising success of Reviving Ophelia, she found herself overwhelmed by the demands on her time and attention. In 2002, Pipher experienced a meltdown. She realized that success and fame were harming her, and she began the long journey to a quieter, more meditative life that would carry her toward self-acceptance and joy.

In Seeking Peace, Pipher tells her own remarkable story, and in the process reveals fundamental truths about our individual search for happiness and love. Candid, surprising and moving, Seeking Peace offers a map for our own journey toward a more fulfilling, more joyously lived life.    

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781594484407
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 04/06/2010
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 822,533
Product dimensions: 5.45(w) x 8.26(h) x 0.71(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Mary Pipher, Ph.D., is a psychologist and the author of nine books, including the New York Times bestsellers Reviving Ophelia, The Shelter of Each Other, and Another Country, as well as Seeking Peace and Writing to Change the World. She lives in Nebraska.

Table of Contents

Prelude 1

Introduction 7

Meltdown (2002) 17

First Lifetime

Bedrock 35

Mother and Father 51

The Glad Game (1947-1965) 73

Lost and Found (1965-1977) 109

Love and Work (1977-1994) 131

Second Lifetime

Avalanche of Roses (1994-2002) 145

Recovery (2002-2003) 159

A Bigger Container (2003-2007) 175

Despair and Self-Acceptance 191

Stopping for Joshua Bell 211

Where I am Now (2008) 231

My Birthday Party 247

Acknowledgments 257

Customer Reviews