Sergey Prokofiev: A Portrait

Sergey Prokofiev: A Portrait


$26.59 $27.99 Save 5% Current price is $26.59, Original price is $27.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


If you don't know anything about Sergey Prokofiev, this two-disc set from Naxos is the place to start. The choice of repertoire is excellent. From the very early "Dreams" through the very late "Symphony-Concerto," every phase of the composer's career is represented. And from solo piano works like the "Seventh Sonata"'s closing Precipitato through chamber works like the Andante of the "First String Quartet" and ballets like "Cinderella"'s Grand Waltz to purely orchestral works like the "Fifth Symphony"'s Allegro marcato, every aspect of the composer's output is represented -- albeit only in excerpts and with the conspicuous exception of his operas. The choice of performances, while necessarily limited to recordings made for Naxos, are also first-rate. Pianist Kun Woo Paik is flashy yet solid in the excerpts from the "First" and "Third" piano concertos and violinist Tedi Papavrami is brilliant but soulful in the excerpts from the "First" and "Second" violin concertos. But best of all are Theodore Kuchar and the Ukraine National Symphony Orchestra in 10 of the selections, including excerpts from five of the composer's seven symphonies. And the nearly 100-page biography by Gregory Hart is as fine an introduction to Prokofiev the man and the composer as there is in English.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/11/2007
Label: Naxos
UPC: 0636943820223
catalogNumber: 8558202
Rank: 161093


  1. Dreams, symphonic poem, Op. 6
  2. Piano Concerto No. 1 in D flat major, Op. 10: Movement 1. Allegro brioso
  3. Scythian Suite, for orchestra, Op. 20: Movement 1. Invocation to Veles and Ala
  4. Symphony No. 1 in D major ("Classical"), Op. 25: Movement 4. Finale. Molto vivace
  5. The Love for Three Oranges, suite for orchestra, Op. 33 bis: Movement 3. March
  6. Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op. 26: Movement 1. Andante - Allegro
  7. Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 19: Movement 2. Scherzo. Vivacissimo
  8. Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Op. 44: Movement 3. Allegro agitato - Allegretto
  9. Symphony No. 4 in C major, Op. 112 (second version): Movement 3. Moderato quasi allegretto
  10. String Quartet No. 1 in B minor, Op. 50: Movement 3. Andante
  11. Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63: Movement 2. Andante assai - Allegretto - Andante a
  12. Lieutenant Kijé, film score and suite for orchestra, Op. 60: Movement 1. The Birth of Kijé
  13. Romeo and Juliet, ballet in 4 acts, Op. 64: Act 1. Dance of the Knights
  14. Romeo and Juliet, ballet in 4 acts, Op. 64: Act 1. Love Dance
  15. Peter and the Wolf, children's tale for narrator & orchestra, Op. 67: Movement 9. The Procession
  16. Alexander Nevsky, cantata for mezzo-soprano, chorus & orchestra, Op. 78: Movement 5. Battle on the Ice
  17. Piano Sonata No. 7 in B flat major ("War Sonata 2/Stalingrad"), Op. 83: Movement 3. Precipitato
  18. Symphony No. 5 in B flat major, Op. 100: Movement 2. Allegro marcato
  19. Cinderella, Suite No. 2 for orchestra, Op. 108: Movement 5. Cinderella at the Palace - Movement 6:
  20. Pushkin Waltzes (2), for orchestra, Op. 120: No. 2 in C sharp minor
  21. Symphony No. 7 in C sharp minor, Op. 131: Movement 4. Vivace
  22. Sinfonia Concertante for cello & orchestra in E minor, Op. 125: Movement 3. Andante con moto - Allegretto - Allegr

Customer Reviews