Serpent's Kiss

Serpent's Kiss

by Deborah Cooke

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940149608539
Publisher: Deborah A. Cooke
Publication date: 04/29/2014
Series: Deborah Cooke's Dragonfire Series , #13
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 276,047
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Bestselling author Deborah Cooke sold her first romance, a medieval called THE ROMANCE OF THE ROSE, in 1992. Since then, she has published more than forty-five romance novels and numerous novellas. She has written in numerous sub-genres, as well as under the names Claire Delacroix and Claire Cross. She has an honours degree in history, with a focus on medieval studies, and is an avid reader.

Deborah makes her home in Canada with her husband. When she isn't writing, she can be found knitting, sewing or hunting for vintage patterns.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Serpent's Kiss 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed all the books in this series. This book is no exception. I just wish they would keep going with the story line. This is the next to last book in this series. If you have not read the other books in this series I suggest you do. If you have read the others you will not be disappointed, just sad to know it is the next to last book.
Kris_Kringle More than 1 year ago
Oh that Thorolf! Great read!! Lots of ups and downs and, of course, the wonderful tale unfolding!!! Always an excellent story from Deborah!!  Highly recommended series
Robindpdx 11 months ago
This was a fantastic, well-written story. Thorolf is passionate and impulsive and has become separated from the rest of the Pyr. Chandra has prepared for centuries for a battle against evil that will determine the world's future. During this story Chandra and Thorolf learned to work together as a team and became better together than each one individually. Chandra learned to take on some of Thorolf's characteristics and Thorolf learned to be more like Chandra. I loved how they blended and how their relationship developed. I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the next one in the series as well as more books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was dreading reading Thorolf's book and had put it off for over a yr. I didn't care for him much in the other books and so I wasn't looking forward to his story. And I was right! I hatr Thorolf. I love his mate Chandra and think she is totally bada$$ but I just keep getting pissed at Thorolf. He is lazy, stupid and down right annoying. I know it finally explains why he is the way he is and I feel sympothy for his loss and how he lost it but come on...enough is enough. He doesn't ask questions when he should, he doesn't think he just reacts and that just pisses me off. I can't even understand why!! Haha. I know these books don't have to be read in order but I really want to read Sloane's book seeing as it is the last one and I don't want to miss anything. But gosh I just can't wait for this book to be over. Love the series, sad it is coming to an end, would have liked to know if Sophie and Nick ever get their time together (I know not relevant to this story) but I know all things must come to an end. I'm really looking forward to anything new Ms Cooke has for the future :-)
dhaupt More than 1 year ago
Thorolf is the lone-wolf, loose cannon of the dragon shifters known as the Pyr, but he has his reasons. Now after having disappeared for two years he suddenly materializes maygwhen his mate-seeking firestorm begins, but his destined partner is not human either and is harboring many dark secrets of her own.  The Goddess Chandra is known by many faces and has spent centuries preparing for this very battle to help the Pyr survive extinction from their diabolical dark brothers the Slayers. Unfortunately her being immortal never alerted her to the fact that she’d also play a vital role by being the mate of one of them. Maybe now is time to remember her eternal vow of chastity, or maybe not. Wow! Deborah Cooke’s reign as dragon mistress continues as she brilliantly presents Thorolf’s firestorm. Pairing him with a Goddess and making their story so imperative to the survival of the species was pure genius and just what this enigmatic, reluctant hero needs. Her dragon and mate character catch up informs and entertains, her expert mixing in pertinent newsworthy information rocks and her backdrops both real and Myth are impressive. But it’s the pure magic of her storytelling that as always sets this series apart.  Bravo Deb, we’ve only got one more in the Dragonfire series to go but I know you have more dragon tales in store for us and I can’t wait.
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
3.75 stars-SERPENT’S KISS is the tenth instalment in Deborah Cooke’s contemporary, romance Dragonfire paranormal series.  The Pyr are shape shifting dragon warriors whose duty it is to protect humankind. The continuing series focuses on a dangerous threat against the Pyr who is determined to destroy the last of the dragons and their mates. This is Thorolf and Chandra’s storyline. Thorolf has been missing for twenty two months and in all the time no one had considered that perhaps he was in trouble. When Erik, the leader of the Pyr, sent Thorolf away for revealing their existence to humans, no one suspected that Thorolf would walk into a trap that could very well bring about the demise of the dragons on earth.  An ancient dragon whose need for power and Dragon’s Blood elixir will target the easy going Thorolf using a seductive female as the bait-one that is not Thorolf’s intended mate. Deborah Cooke pulls the reader into a storyline that is the beginning of the end. SERPENT’S KISS is the second to last instalment in the Dragonfire series and with it comes the conclusion to a battle that has raged between the Slayers and the Dragons for most of the series and throughout each consecutive instalment. SERPENT’S KISS focuses on the possible demise of the race of dragons; the battle between good and evil; and a mythological storyline about a warrior huntress whose destined mate has been drawn to the dark side without his consent. There are many references to Norse mythology and the interference of the gods in human evolution. The storyline is slow to build and the relationship between our leading couple takes a back seat to the overall premise.  There is very little romance and the attraction between Thorolf and Chandra felt forced-there was the instant attraction of the firestorm but the reality of the situation was more chemical than physical. I did not get the impression that love was in our couple’s future.  Chandra continued to push Thorolf away and in the end, Thorolf discovered that Chandra had been lying to him about her true intent. SERPENT’S KISS is a story about betrayal and family; power and greed. Most of the previous storyline characters play a secondary role throughout the novel. Erik will once again question his ability as the leader of the Pyr but it will take the collective of dragons to save one of their own from himself and Slayer Chen. I did have one concern and it involves the title and the cover image. Serpent's Kiss by Thea Harrison/Serpent's Kiss by Deborah Cooke both involve dragon shifters and both covers use Sam Bond as the cover model.  Initially I thought this was a re-release thinking I had previously read the story then realized it was a new release from Deborah Cooke.  I am wondering how many other readers had a moment of confusion with the duplicity of the title and image?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read