Seven Days of You

Seven Days of You

by Cecilia Vinesse

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, January 25

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316391115
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 03/07/2017
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.25(d)
Age Range: 15 - 17 Years

About the Author

Cecilia Vinesse is a dual citizen of the US and the UK, and, like her main characters, has spent much of her life as an expat. She is a graduate of Barnard College in New York, holds a master's degree in creative writing from St. Andrews, and is the author of Seven Days of You and The Summer of Us. She currently lives in England.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Seven Days of You 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
xokristim More than 1 year ago
This book was an adorable contemporary read. I found it predictable, which I tend to find most contemporary books lately. It was cute and sweet, which is just why I wanted to read it. I like when I want to read a specific type of book and pick up just what I want. This was the case with this book. I enjoyed it the whole time I was reading it. I found all the descriptions of Tokyo making me want to be there now. I liked all of the characters, they did a lot of growing up throughout the story. I enjoyed the drama that was going on between the friends, it really made each of them look at their friendships deeply. I thought Sophia was a wonderful main character. She was funny, confused, and just pretty normal. I liked how there were other topics touched on throughout the book and not just the love story. There were family issues, friendship drama, and also all of the issues surrounding moving to another country. Overall I thought this book was wonderful. I really enjoyed it the whole time I was reading it. While I got annoyed at certain character’s actions and words, it was just what the story needed to come full circle. If you are a fan of Gayle Forman’s Just One Day, I would definitely pick this book up.
Gigous More than 1 year ago
Seven Days of You is a sweet, contemporary teen romance. Set in Tokyo, Japan in August and told in first person by Sophia, an American living in Tokyo. In one week, Sophia, her mother, and sister are moving back to New Jersey after living in Tokyo for the past few years. Sophia is leaving before the start of her senior and is leaving her best friends, Mika and David. She wants to spend the week enjoying Tokyo and just hanging out with her friends, but she knows at the end of the week, she will get on plane to leave. To make matters worse, Jamie, the boy who humiliated her, just moved back to Tokyo the same week Sophia is leaving. Sophia and Jamie were very good friends before he humiliated her on the day he moved away. At first, Sophia is annoyed with Jamie, but later learns she was wrong about him and that he did not mean to hurt her. Over the course of the week, secrets about Sophia’s friends are revealed and Sophia realizes some truths about her family. As Sophia deals with all the changes in her life, she finds herself relying on Jamie for stability, but with only few days left in Tokyo, should Sophia risk any more heartbreak? The story is a quick and fun read with a fast pace, amazing setting, and great characters. The story keeps a fast pace that keeps you reading more. The setting of Tokyo, Japan is really well described, you feel like you are there and will want to travel to Tokyo after reading this book. Sophia is a great character, she is smart, kind, and cares about her friends and family. She realistically dealt with all the changes in her life. Jamie is sweet, considerate, and deals with issues of his own while also helping Sophia. Mika is this tough girl with a soft side. David, an Australian, could be charming, but was also a jerk. Despite Sophia having a crush on David at beginning, the story does not have a love triangle as Sophia feelings toward David change. The romance between is Sophia and Jamie is not insta-love either, they very close before Jamie moved away and got to know each other more during the story. The story does not have any racy scenes, hooking up is mentioned, but the most Sophia does is kissing. I liked this book and would check out future books by the author. Perfect read for fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Stephanie Perkins. I received an advance copy from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.
Sarah_UK1 More than 1 year ago
(I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to Little, Brown Books for Young Readers and NetGalley.) This was a YA contemporary romance about a relationship that develops over a week. Sophia was an okay character, and I felt quite sorry for her that she was being forced to leave her home, and the way her father treated her wasn’t very nice either. The storyline was about a whirlwind romance between Sophia and a boy called Jamie who she originally claimed to dislike. We got a couple of revelations from friend which were surprising, but I did lose interest a bit as the book went on. The ending to this was okay, although it wasn’t exactly a happily ever after. 6 out of 10
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
I liked this story. I found it to be a really quick read and while it wasn't the perfect story, it did have a lot of things going for it. I thought that the range of emotions that Sophia goes through in this story really rang true. The book was a little different than I had expected from the description and while there was a romance featured in the story this book was about so much more than that. Sophia is moving to the United States with her mom and sister in just one week. She has spent the past few years of her life living in Tokyo and that is where all of her friends and her life is. Moving is never easy but moving so far away where the possibility of seeing your friends is incredibly tough. Jamie is moving back to Tokyo after spending a couple of years at a boarding school in the United States. Jamie and Sophia didn't part on good terms when they last saw each other. Sophia really wishes that he had waited until she left to come back. Sophia soon feels a connection to Jamie like she hadn't felt before. He seems to be there when she needs him and he somehow finds the right words for the situation. It was fun to watch this pair open up to each other and make a connection. It is really too bad that the time that they have together is so limited due to Sophia's upcoming move. This book takes place in Tokyo and I was really looking forward to experiencing a bit of this area. Unfortunately, I didn't really get a feel for Tokyo from this story. Sophia attends an English speaking school and her friends are largely like her. There were some food items mentioned but other than that this story felt like it could have taken place anywhere. In addition to moving and sorting out her feelings toward Jamie, Sophia is also saying goodbye to her friends in this story. I felt like some of the drama between Sophia and her friends was unnecessary. Another thing that Sophia has to figure out is her relationship with her father. This was really one of the strong points of the book. I felt really bad for Sophia and thought that the emotions portrayed were realistic. I would recommend this book to others. I think that the author was able to create an interesting story around a very realistic teen. I am impressed by Cecilia Vinesse's debut novel and look forward to reading more from this author in the future. I received an advance reader edition of this book from Little Brown Books for Young Readers via NetGalley and TheNovl.com.
onemused More than 1 year ago
"Seven Days of You" follows Sophia during her last week in Tokyo, where she has lived for the last four years while her mother was on sabbatical from Rutgers (which ends just in time for her senior year of high school). Sophia is particularly upset because her last seven days are the first seven days that Jamie is returning to Tokyo after going to a boarding school in the US for three years. We quickly learn that Sophia and Jamie were close before he left and then had a bad fight right before he left which neither of them has really gotten over. In part, the fight was because Sophia (or Sofa as she has been nicknamed) had a crush on David- which she still does. Sophia learns a lot of hard truths about her parents, her sister, and her friends during the last week she spends in Tokyo. It's a difficult time for her mainly because she has to leave her friends and the world she knows for New Jersey- the events that happen during the week just compound the difficulty. The book only covers those seven days- but they are a set of days in which Sophia will have to do a lot of growing up. Sophia was, at times, hard to like- she's selfish, oblivious, and easily lashes out at everyone around her. Jamie is quite the opposite, easy to like and sweet through and through. David was even more selfish than Sophia, and clearly has some bigger issues to work through. I felt pretty badly for Caroline, as the group is not terribly kind to her, though there are some revelations there. Mika was a fun character- outgoing, unique, and in the center of it all. Overall, I really enjoyed it and read it in basically one sitting. Sophia really grew during the book, and it draws you through her memories and current revelations in a really fascinating way. As a note, there is a lot of underage alcohol use, mentions of sexual activity, and a lot of really poor parenting (parents who aren't around and all the high school student parents let them go out and stay out all night). I almost think a college setting might have fit better, as I found some of this hard to believe, but it was an interesting perspective nonetheless. As a warning, the end is a little open/not closed book, and I find myself very much hoping for a sequel, but an epilogue would have been nice (this story is not all wrapped up in a bow). I don't want to say much, it isn't a cliffhanger, but it doesn't have a sense of finality. I really enjoyed this book and found it really unique and fascinating! I would recommend it for an older audience (older teens/adults) mainly due to some heavier issues/themes. Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
heater_28 More than 1 year ago
**Advanced copy of this book provided by the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review** This is the first book I've read by Cecilia Vinesse and I enjoyed it. When I saw that this book was compared to Anna and the French Kiss, one of my favorite YA books, I got excited to read this book. Sophia has limited time left in Tokyo before moving back to the United States and she wants to make the most of her time by spending as much time with her friends as possible. What she doesn't anticipate is the return of Jamie, the boy that had done her wrong prior to his departure for the US three years before. As Sophia deals with Jamie being back, she also finds that the relationships she thought were the most meaningful and important, might not have been exactly what she thought they were. During her final seven days in Tokyo, she's forced to examine all of her relationships and her feelings about herself and where her life is heading. I really enjoyed the setting of this book and getting to learn more about another country and the culture there. There were a few things in this book that I didn't connect with as much, but overall it was enjoyable and I would check out other titles by the author in the future.