The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher

The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher

by Christine Jax

Paperback(2nd Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, August 30 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher by Christine Jax

In The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher, Dr. Christine Jax presents a path to great teaching that shows how and why teaching is "a calling" in the true sense of the words. The book is grounded in the theory that the education of another person is a spiritual endeavor that improves as the inner life of the teacher improves. While avoiding the perils of dogma, doctrine, and politics, Jax has found a way for teachers to understand the role of God and spirituality in the classroom. She does this by focusing on the teacher's strengths and commitment rather than on the student or the subject matter content. Through inspirational stories, concrete instructional strategies, and spiritual practices, this book helps teachers go through stages of enlightenment in order to become energized, fulfilled, and successful at increasing student growth and learning. The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher demonstrates how the individual teacher's gifts and beliefs are the primary elements of great teaching.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781610480758
Publisher: R&L Education
Publication date: 06/16/2011
Edition description: 2nd Edition
Pages: 142
Product dimensions: 6.13(w) x 9.16(h) x 0.36(d)

About the Author

Christine Jax, Ph.D., is a professor and department chair in the School of Education at Capella University, a former Commissioner of Education for the State of Minnesota, and the founder of a school for homeless children. She has 25 years experience in education as a teacher, administrator, researcher, and teacher educator.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews