Shade Me

Shade Me

by Jennifer Brown

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 23

Overview

The first book in acclaimed author Jennifer Brown’s thrilling suspense series, Shade Me is the story of a girl born with rare synesthesia who becomes unwittingly entangled in the mystery of an attack on a classmate and involved with a boy who may be a suspect. Perfect for fans of Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars, Shade Me is a thriller you won’t want to put down.

Nikki Kill does not see the world like everyone else. In her eyes, happiness is pink, sadness is a mixture of brown and green, and lies are gray, thanks to a rare phenomenon called synesthesia that makes her senses overlap.

That’s why Nikki decides to answer the phone the night a mysterious call lights it up bright orange—the color of emergencies. It’s the hospital and they need Nikki to identify a Jane Doe who is barely hanging on to life after a horrible attack. Nikki IDs the victim as Peyton Hollis, a popular girl from her school who she hardly knows. As Nikki tries to discover why her number was the only one in Peyton’s phone, she finds herself swept up in the mystery behind Peyton’s attack—and she finds herself drawn toward Peyton’s handsome, rebellious older brother, Dru…who may be the primary suspect.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062324436
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 01/19/2016
Series: Shade Me Series , #1
Pages: 448
Sales rank: 828,650
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.70(d)
Age Range: 14 Years

About the Author

Jennifer Brown is the author of the young adult novels Shade Me, Bitter EndPerfect Escape, Thousand Words, and Torn Away. Her debut young adult novel, Hate List, was chosen as an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, a VOYA Perfect Ten, and a School Library Journal Best Book of the Year. She lives in the Kansas City, Missouri, area with her husband and children. You can visit Jennifer online at www.jenniferbrownya.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shade Me 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very engaging
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You Will Not Want To Stop Reading ,. A page turning, can't wait to get to the ending, GOOD READ!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Next book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyed reading this mystery.
Madison-s_Library More than 1 year ago
Shade Me is an intriguing mystery. The suspense starts from the very first page and only increases until you reach the dramatic ending. There are fights, clues, scary night scenes, a whole host of suspicious characters and a fierce, independent main character who can more than hold her own. I really enjoyed this mystery novel. It read like a perfect crime show, but with more depth and twists. Nikki is one strong character. Brash, harsh, independent, Nikki is all this and more. She keeps to herself, is almost failing her final year of high school, and has no idea why Peyton, daughter of a famous movie executive and queen of the school, would call her just before being left for dead. Oh, and Nikki has synesthesia. She sees colours for numbers, words or letters. It makes school nearly impossible and it never helped her solve her own mother's murder. But her ability to see more than is there, make connections others might miss is surprisingly helpful when she tries to piece together what happened to Peyton. While Nikki's synesthesia is never explained in all that much detail - Nikki herself says it's really hard to explain - it was easy enough to pick up how it works. While Nikki's synesthesia is not as cut and dried as the synopsis makes it sound and it seems to have its own rules as to how it works, it does seem realistic, if complicated, as it is used to build and solve the mystery. Nikki is a mixed-marshal arts fighter and knows how to take care of herself, so she has no trouble getting mixed up in all sorts of dangerous situations. The tension runs high through most of the book, particularly picking up towards the end. And while Nikki is no dumb girl walking blindly into the proverbial scary house, she manages to find herself in some alarming situations. I couldn't help but think that she should ask the nice policeman for help, tell someone what she knows or not go to meet the person who could be the culprit all by herself. Arghhhh. But her independence and lack of trust only works to build the suspense, and surprisingly I didn't get annoyed with Nikki. Despite her rough edges she is a likeable character. I love that this is going to be a series. While the storyline, the mystery is solved by the end of this book (there is no cliffhanger), there is plenty of room for more adventures, more to follow up with this story and more uses for Nikki's intriguing skills at piecing clues together. As for romance, I would say there is less of that and more of lust. Again, this too works to develop the storyline rather than becoming one of its own and holds true to Nikki's character. There is no love triangle, but I have to say I was rooting for the 'other guy', who isn't really even in contention, but I'm really hoping something will develop in the next book. All the signs are there so here's hoping. This book is pretty mature in its content, both in the way Nikki speaks and acts and the details of the crime. But it is a complicated and intriguing mystery, made all the better with plenty of suspense. This is a series and a protagonist of which I'm definitely going to want more. The publishers provided a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Brooke-The-Cover-Contessa More than 1 year ago
I'd like to thank Harper Collins for providing me with a copy of this book to read and give an honest review. Receiving this book for free has in no way altered my review or opinion. So a while back I read a duaology about synesthesia. And I really enjoyed it. It was something new to me. Kind of paranormal but not. So when I read the blurb for this book I was completely intrigued to see where the author took this topic. Add in a mystery on top and this makes for quite an enjoyable read! Nikki kill has synesthesia: she sees emotions as colors. Imagine being able to tell how a person is feeling because of the aura they put off. This condition overwhelms Nikki at times but can also come in quite handy when trying to figure people out. I really liked Nikki. She was very down to earth and no bones. Her sarcasm sometimes gets her in trouble, but it makes her real. She wasn't afraid to just be who she was despite the fact that her condition often crippled her in ways. The one thing Nikki fears is death, which comes to her as the color crimson. It reminds her of a past she doesn't want to think about. A past that causes her immense fear. Of course Nikki gets pulled into a world of deceit when one of her school's most popular girls gets between to within an inch of her life and the last person she called was Nikki. I think the thing that is most intriguing about this book is that Nikki's condition helped her find clues to solve the mystery of who hurt Peyton and why. I loved the infusion of mystery into this book. I wasn't really expecting it to be so deep and to go in such a dark direction. There are parts that go over the top. I was surprised at just how much freedom Nikki had as a teenager. I know her dad was busy with work but I can't imagine ever leaving my teen for days without any type of supervision. And it seems like Nikki took so many unnecessary risks with herself during the book. Part of me thought she was brave while the other part wanted to hit her over the head for putting herself in such situations. I will say that the synesthesia part got confusing to me at times. So many colors loaded into the book I wasn't always sure what she was seeing and how it was effecting her. Overall I ended up enjoying it and was surprised by some of the things that happened at the end of the book (things I definitely was not expecting). I liked the author's writing and would like to read more by her. If you enjoy dark mysteries with a hint of the "not so paranormal" you'll enjoy this one for sure!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Little Long