Shadow Maker

Shadow Maker

by James R. Hannibal

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback - Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Overview

How far will collateral damage from a CIA drone strike reach?

When a suicide bomber shatters the peace of a winter afternoon on the National Mall in Washington, D.C., former pilot and undercover Cerberus operative Nick Baron receives an eerie invitation from the chess app on his phone—a mysterious figure named The Emissary wants to play.

Nick and his covert unit—the Triple Seven Chase team—soon find themselves drawn into battle against an unknown opponent who has resurrected an ancient order of assassins: the legendary Hashashin. And there is a long-awaited prophecy being fulfilled by a series of violent attacks which may culminate in a final apocalypse over Jerusalem.

As the Triple Seven fight to stop each attack, Nick tries to keep The Emissary on the hook by playing their digital chess game. The lines between the game and the fight begin to blur, as every time Nick loses a piece on the board, he loses one of his men. And if Nick cannot find a way to stop the terrorist mastermind, a checkmate may kill millions…

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780425266908
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 02/03/2015
Series: Nick Baron Series , #2
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 464
Product dimensions: 4.20(w) x 7.30(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

James R. Hannibal (Lt. Col., USAF Reserve), is  the author of Shadow Catcher and Wraith. He is a graduate of the U.S. Air Force Academy who has flown the A-10 Warthog, the MQ-1 Predator drone, and the top secret B-2 Stealth Bomber, totaling over a thousand combat and combat support hours. He regularly reviews terrorism-related nonfiction for the New York Journal of Books.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

“Intense and gritty—a skillfully crafted thriller.”—W.E.B. Griffin & William E. Butterworth, bestselling authors of The Last Witness and Empire and Honor

“Get out of the way, Nelson DeMille. Brad Thor—you’ve got competition!”—Raymond Benson, author of the Black Stiletto series

“Hannibal is a force to be reckoned with and his latest is simply not to be missed.”—Jon Land, bestselling author of Strong Rain Falling

“A feast for thriller lovers!”—Grant Blackwood, New York Times bestselling author of The Kill Switch

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shadow Maker 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
He did it again. I was up late into the night reading. Like I said in my review of Shadow Catcher once you start reading you just can’t stop. The book starts with a prologue of an event in Yemen in 2005. From there we are on a journey with the Triple Seven Chase Team from Washington D.C. to Turkey, London, Israel and many more points in between. It becomes a complicated game of cat and mouse tied to mysterious chess game. Nick always seems to be just one step behind the Emmissary’s plan. Unfortunately this game of chess has dire consequences so Nick needs to figure out a plan that gets him ahead instead of behind. Nick Baron and Drake Merigold are quite a pair. They have been teammates for more than a decade and always have each others six. Even during the heat of battle their dialogue is quick and sharp and sometimes has a touch humor. Just what you need when you are being chased through the streets surrounded by gunfire. They are aided on this adventure by Dr. Scott Stone, the lead engineer is well versed with IT problems and can hack into almost any system. He usually helps from the command center but this time the command center is mobile so for the first time he is out in the field. CJ, Celine Jameson, works with the team from the FBI’s Intelligence Coordination Center in Washington D.C. Hannibal really raised the bar with this one. The thrilling – edge of your seat moments happen right on top of each other. The Emissary and his group of rabid Hashasins have no qualms about killing. In fact their plan could kill millions, including Baron’s family. Dr. Kurt Baron, Nick’s father, is with Nick’s wife and their son on a trip Nick thought would keep them safe. His father has no idea what he does for a living, he thinks Nick sits at a desk and pushes paper all day. This is a truly excellent story. Fans of Brad Thor, Tom Clancy or Vince Flynn will absolutely love this thriller. I have become very invested in Nick, his family, Drake and all the other members of the Triple Seven Chase Team. I can’t wait for the next James R. Hannibal thriller. He is definitely an author to watch!! I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!!!
BookReviewer75 More than 1 year ago
Another great tale from James Hannibal-his best yet. This story is all about dominoes. Hannibal explores how far the trail of falling dominoes will lead when the first is triggered by a CIA drone strike-gone-wrong. His covert ops team lead, Nick Baron returns with the Triple Seven Chase squadron. This time Baron and his team are drawn into a chess match (both real and figurative) with a genius bent on a very unique brand of revenge. The real-world chase and the chess match blend together in diabolical ways. Hannibal, of course, brings his military experience and counter-terrorism background into the mix for a realistic atmosphere. This one is not to be missed.
AP00 More than 1 year ago
Collateral damage, how far does it go? The 777 team race to find a solution to this puzzling question. Fast paced, straight ahead exciting action. From Russia to England and back to the middle east, every page is full of twists and turns and you wonder can Nick Baron make it out unscathed. An absolute must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I happened upon this author and read this nook. I am a big fan of Dale Brown and Tom Clancy. This was a great readm good action, interesting characters and a believable knowledge of the techniques and hardware of modern warfare. I was so happy with my discovery that I went back and bought the rest of them!..enjoy!