Shadows Linger (Books of the North Series #2)

Shadows Linger (Books of the North Series #2)

by Glen Cook
4.3 8

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - First Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Shadows Linger (Books of the North Series #2) by Glen Cook

Mercenary soldiers in the service of the Lady, the Black Company stands against the rebels of the White Rose. They are tough men, proud of honoring their contracts. The Lady is evil, but so, too, are those who falsely profess to follow the White Rose, reincarnation of a centuries-dead heroine. Yet now some of the Company have discovered that the mute girl they rescued and sheltered is truly the White Rose reborn. Now there may be a path to the light, even for such as they. If they can survive it.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780812508420
Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates
Publication date: 04/15/1990
Series: Black Company Series , #2
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 320
Product dimensions: 4.22(w) x 6.68(h) x 0.86(d)

About the Author

Born in 1944, Glen Cook grew up in northern California, served in the U.S. Navy, attended the University of Missouri, and was one of the earliest graduates of the well-known "Clarion" workshop SF writers. Since 1971 he has published a large number of SF and fantasy novels, including the "Dread Empire" series, the occult-detective "Garrett" novels, and the very popular "Black Company" sequence that began with the publication of The Black Company in 1984. Among his SF novels is A Passage at Arms.

After working many years for General Motors, Cook now writes full-time. He lives near St. Louis, Missouri, with his wife Carol.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
eafraga More than 1 year ago
Reviewer: Eric Fraga Shadows Linger Review Shadows Linger takes place right where The Black Company left off. After the final battle between the forces of the Empire and the White Rose Resistance, we find the Empire, and its elite force The Black Company victorious, but all is still not at peace in the world, for a malevolent evil stirs once again. The original evil, The Dominator, has started to make his move. While he has been trapped in his tomb, sealed away from the outside world, something has awoken him. He is plotting. Little is known about what he plans to do, but what is known is that the dead are going missing. Graves are being dug up, not for riches of treasure, but for the corpses within. Meanwhile, the Lady, dark ruler of the empire, is having trouble controlling her elite circle of generals, The Ten Who Were Taken. As they betray and sabotage each other, it is to The Black Company that she now turns to in order to achieve her goals. Interestingly enough, this new closeness to the Company has also brought her even closer to Croaker. Perhaps the Company is getting a bit too entangled. So what does it all mean? What is The Dominator planning? What are the Lady's new plans for the empire now that her only threat, the White Rose has been seemingly eliminated? Can hope really be destroyed? And where are Raven and the young girl known as Darling? Well you will just have to read the book to find out! The second part to this thrilling epic tale keeps building upon an already great thing. Cook takes a bit of a turn by telling more small scale tales about separate events happening at the same time, then he brings them all together in some of the most explosive writing I have seen on this scale. Three storylines unite to bring together an amazing climax, followed by deep intrigue and hardship. I suggest it to anyone who enjoyed the first, it is truly worth a read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago